Associate degree
Veterinary Technology (Associate in Applied Science)
McLennan Community College · Veterinary Technology program (Health Professions) · Waco, Texas, United States
- Official award
- Associate in Applied Science degree in Veterinary TechnologyAAS
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for United States
- Format
- On campus2 school years, covering 6 consecutive semesters starting in the fall; 60 credit hours
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
60-credit, six-semester associate degree starting each fall, with admission limited to about 30 students by a point system.
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- Veterinary Technology program (Health Professions)
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The page says the program prepares students for careers as Licensed Veterinary Technicians.“MCC's Veterinary Technology program - often called a vet tech program - prepares students in Texas for careers as Licensed Veterinary Technicians.”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
- Further professional requirements
- After graduating, students take the VTNE and a Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners test to become Licensed Veterinary Technicians in Texas.Source
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Veterinary Technology Program, Waco, TX; Associate of Applied Science; initial accreditation January 23, 2004; next evaluation 2027
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- 2 school years, covering 6 consecutive semesters starting in the fall; 60 credit hours
- Credits
- 60 credit hoursCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Intakes
- Fall (Fall 2026 applications closed June 15, 2026)
- Campus
- Waco campus / Highlander Ranch1400 College Drive, Waco, TX 76708
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Animal or veterinary experience requiredAt least 50 hours of work, volunteer or observation experience under a DVM or LVT.
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Age 18+, high school diploma or GED; BIOL 1406/1408, ENGL 1301, MATH 1314/1332, and PSYC 2301 or SOCI 1301 with C or better by the deadline; point-based selection.
- Documents
- Application, transcripts from all colleges, documentation of hours
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, clinical placement details, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)