Professional doctorate
Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM)
Mississippi State University · College of Veterinary Medicine · Mississippi State, Mississippi, United States
- Official award
- Doctor of Veterinary MedicineDVM
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicineStated for United States
- Format
- On campusTwo years preclinical plus two years clinical education
- Tuition
- $27,365.75per year, Academic Year 2025-2026
About this program
Four-year professional veterinary program with two years of preclinical coursework followed by two years of clinical education, including rotations in the Animal Health Center and externships.
Role the program prepares for: Practising veterinarian.
- Subject
- Veterinary medicine
- Department
- College of Veterinary Medicine
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Professional doctorateA professional doctorate that is itself the entry qualification (for example the DVM or VMD). It is listed separately from research PhDs and is not equivalent to them.
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicinePrograms the source describes as the academic and clinical qualification toward becoming a veterinarian in the stated jurisdiction. Registration or licensing normally requires further steps, and a qualification from one country does not guarantee registration in another.
- Why we classify it this way
- The page presents the DVM as the program producing practice-ready veterinary graduates who sit the NAVLE.“Our DVM graduates are practice-ready upon graduation”Source
- Prior degree required
- No
- Further professional requirements
- A DVM alone may not entitle graduates to practise; the NAVLE and/or a state exam may be required by the state of practice.Source
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| After pre-veterinary coursework | Two years preclinical plus two years clinical | – | Prerequisite undergraduate coursework; minimum 3.00 overall GPASource |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Council on Education (COE)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Doctor of Veterinary Medicine program, Mississippi State University (Mississippi State, MS); listed as Accredited, last evaluation 2021, next evaluation 2028
Stated by the schoolAVMA Council on Education (COE)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: School-published statement of the same COE accreditation (Status Accredited, last evaluation 2021, next 2028)
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Two years preclinical plus two years clinical education
- Clinical components
- Year three: about four-week rotations in the Animal Health Center; year four: externships and electives (minimum 26 weeks of electives, up to 12 weeks of externships).
- Clinical placement
- Up to 12 weeks of externships in year four.
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Starkville campus (College of Veterinary Medicine)240 Wise Center Drive, Mississippi State, MS 39762
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- Taught in EnglishAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
- Published language requirements
- TOEFL 79 iBT or IELTS 6.5 for applicants whose primary language is not English (waived for US-educated and certain other applicants).
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Animal or veterinary experience requiredExperience under the supervision of a veterinarian is required; no set quantity of hours.
- Interview
- Interview possible
- Previous qualification
- Minimum overall GPA of 3.00; applicants who hold a bachelor degree before applying may waive the Writing and Humanities/Social-Behavioral Science/Fine Arts prerequisites.
- Science prerequisites
- Biology I and II 8 hrs, Microbiology 4, Chemistry I and II 8, Organic Chemistry I and II 8, Biochemistry 3, Physics I and II 6, Mathematics 6, upper-level science/math 6 (semester hours); plus Writing 3 and Humanities/Social/Fine Arts 15.
- Prior degree
- A bachelor degree is not stated as required.
- Documents
- VMCAS application, transcripts via VMCAS, three electronic letters of recommendation, $60 supplemental application fee.
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Base tuition (Mississippi resident)Tuition · mandatory | $27,365.75per year, Academic Year 2025-2026 | Mississippi Resident Costs | 19 October 2026Source |
| Supplemental application processing fee (non-refundable)Application fee · mandatory | $60one-time, application cycle | All applicants | 19 October 2026Source |
| Non-resident surchargeOther compulsory charge · mandatory | $22,740per year, Academic Year 2025-2026 | Non-Resident Costs | 19 October 2026Source |
| Total charge to student (resident; tuition plus fees)Other compulsory charge · mandatory | $29,903per year, Academic Year 2025-2026 | Mississippi Resident Costs | 19 October 2026Source |
| Total charge to student (non-resident; tuition plus surcharge and fees)Other compulsory charge · mandatory | $52,643per year, Academic Year 2025-2026 | Non-Resident Costs | 19 October 2026Source |
Calculated tuition total: $109,463 (In-state residents). Calculated from published annual tuition for Academic Year 2025-2026 x 4 years. It assumes no fee changes and excludes clinical and laboratory charges, equipment, travel, placement expenses and other charges.
Scholarships and funding
Funding is shown with its basis and who it is for. Competitive funding is not a guarantee.
Charles E. and Viola G. Bardsley Scholarship Scholarship
Competitive · $25,000 or $50,000
Eligibility: Select group of up to 12 first-year students, based on state of residency, GPA, extracurricular activities and leadership potential
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: intakes.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)