Bachelor’s degree
Veterinary Medical Technology (VMT) Program
Mississippi State University · College of Veterinary Medicine · Mississippi State, Mississippi, United States
- Official award
- Bachelor of Science (Veterinary Medical Technology)BS
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for United States
- Format
- On campus
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Undergraduate veterinary medical technology program in the College of Veterinary Medicine with an 8-week block schedule and externships; applicants apply to the program separately from general university admission.
Role the program prepares for: Veterinary medical technologist.
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- College of Veterinary Medicine
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Bachelor’s degreeA first degree. A bachelor’s title does not by itself show whether a program leads to veterinarian, nurse or technician roles: the study pathway is shown separately.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The program describes preparing veterinary medical technologists, likened to nursing for animals.“What is a veterinary medical technologist ? Think of it like being a nurse, but for animals.”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Veterinary technology program (Bachelor of Science), 240 Wise Drive, Starkville, MS; initial accreditation January 27, 2012; next evaluation 2028
Dates: 27 January 2012 to not stated
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Not published
- Campus attendance
- On campus; classes in 8-week blocks.
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Starkville campus (College of Veterinary Medicine)240 Wise Center Drive, Mississippi State, MS 39762
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Animal or veterinary experience recommendedThree recommenders; one is recommended to speak to the applicant animal handling experience.
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Prerequisite courses completed with a 2.5 cumulative GPA before entering the VMT program (regular route: apply during sophomore year at MSU).
- Science prerequisites
- English Composition I and II, college algebra and trigonometry or statistics, General Biology I and II, chemistry, General Microbiology, Animal Science, vet med terminology and careers courses, plus humanities, social science, fine art and public speaking hours.
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, duration, intakes, clinical placement details, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)