Veterinary Schools

Associate degree

Veterinary Technician (Associate and Applied Science)

Mountwest Community and Technical College · Allied Health - Veterinary Technology · Huntington, West Virginia, United States

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
Veterinary Technician Associate and Applied ScienceAAS
Pathway
Veterinary technologyStated for United States
Format
On campus78 credit hours
Tuition
Not published

About this program

78-credit associate program with small classes and hands-on work with small animals, large animals and exotics; the college has open admission but the page does not describe program selection.

Role the program prepares for: Registered veterinary technician.

Subject
Veterinary technology
Department
Allied Health - Veterinary Technology
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.

Degree level
Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
Pathway
Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
Why we classify it this way
The page describes veterinary technicians as working under veterinarians and the program mission as preparing students for the veterinary workplace.“Veterinary technicians are an integral part of veterinary medicine and they work under the supervision of veterinarians.”Source
Prior degree required
Not published

Accreditation, evaluation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.

  • Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationFull statusUS

    Scope: Veterinary Technology Program, Huntington, WV; Associate of Allied Science (as printed); initial accreditation February 5, 2016; next evaluation 2026

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
78 credit hours
Credits
78 credit hoursCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Huntington campusOne Mountwest Way, Huntington, WV 25701

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Animal or veterinary experience
Not published
Interview
Not published
Previous qualification
College open admission policy: applicants with a high school diploma or GED are eligible; those with neither may be admitted conditionally.

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement, clinical placement details, whether a prior degree is required.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction