Associate degree
Veterinary Nursing Degree, A.A.S., Online
Murray State College · Veterinary Nursing Program · No campus · institution based in United States
- Official award
- Associate of Applied Science in Veterinary NursingAAS
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for United States
- Format
- Online2-year course sequence option; the core VN curriculum must be completed within 6 years.
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Online option of the Associate of Applied Science in Veterinary Nursing, with hands-on skills completed at an approved off-campus veterinary clinic; the core curriculum has a two-year sequence option and must be completed within six years.
- Subject
- Veterinary nursing
- Department
- Veterinary Nursing Program
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The program mission is to produce credentialed professional members of the veterinary medical team, and the program is AVMA accredited.“The mission of the Murray State College Veterinary Nursing program is to produce graduates who will be credentialed professional members of the veterinary medical team.”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Veterinary Nursing Distance Education Program, Associates in Applied Science (as listed by AVMA)
Study structure
- Delivery
- OnlineAcademic instruction is online. Check the details for campus visits, laboratory work, attendance-based exams and mandatory clinical or workplace placements, which can still apply.
- Online instruction
- Online classroom instruction
- Mandatory campus attendance
- Not published
- Campus residencies or workshops
- Not stated on the page.
- In-person assessment
- Not stated on the page.
- Laboratory work
- Hands-on essential skills are executed at the approved Off-Campus Clinical Institution (OCCI) site; each clinical skills course has an application.
- Mandatory clinical or workplace placement
- Mandatory: an Off-Campus Clinical Institution (OCCI) site, a pre-approved veterinary clinic, must be selected and approved before enrolling in any laboratory course; clinical skills course applications exist for MSCVN 1121, 1211, 1241, 2112, 2151 and 2211.
- Placement arrangement
- Student arranges the placement
- Must already work in a veterinary setting
- Not published
- Placement site approval
- Yes
- Live attendance
- Live attendance not published
- International enrolment
- Not published
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- 2-year course sequence option; the core VN curriculum must be completed within 6 years.
- Clinical placement
- Off-Campus Clinical Institution (OCCI) site at a pre-approved veterinary clinic
- Intakes
- Fall, Spring
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, animal or veterinary experience requirement, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)