Professional doctorate
Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM)
North Carolina State University · College of Veterinary Medicine · Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
- Official award
- Doctor of Veterinary MedicineDVM
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicineStated for United States
- Format
- On campusFour years
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Four-year professional DVM with a hands-on clinical program; students select focus areas for depth while receiving a broad veterinary education. Distance education is limited to non-required electives.
- Subject
- Veterinary medicine
- Department
- College of Veterinary Medicine
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Professional doctorateA professional doctorate that is itself the entry qualification (for example the DVM or VMD). It is listed separately from research PhDs and is not equivalent to them.
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicinePrograms the source describes as the academic and clinical qualification toward becoming a veterinarian in the stated jurisdiction. Registration or licensing normally requires further steps, and a qualification from one country does not guarantee registration in another.
- Why we classify it this way
- The college states its goal is preparing graduates to step into the veterinary profession and practise veterinary medicine.“Our goal is to prepare graduates to step into the profession with the most up-to-date veterinary medical knowledge possible”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
- Further professional requirements
- Graduates must meet licensing requirements; the college reports NAVLE pass rates against the COE 80% standard (2025: 93%).Source
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| After pre-veterinary coursework | Four-year DVM program | – | Required prerequisite courses; minimum GPA 3.0 (NC residents) or 3.4 (non-residents)Source |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Council on Education (COE)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Doctor of Veterinary Medicine program, North Carolina State University (Raleigh, NC); Status Accredited, last evaluation 2021, next evaluation 2028
Stated by the schoolAVMA Council on Education (COE)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: School statement: full accreditation for seven years received in 2021; next site visit expected in 2028
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Four years
- Clinical components
- The clinical program provides a heavy emphasis on hands-on clinical practice.
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Raleigh campus (College of Veterinary Medicine)1060 William Moore Drive, Raleigh, NC 27607
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Animal or veterinary experience requiredMinimum 200 hours of veterinary or related scientific research experience by the time of application.
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Minimum cumulative, required-course and last-45-credit GPAs of 3.0 for North Carolina residents and 3.4 for non-residents.
- Science prerequisites
- Biochemistry, biology (lab), general chemistry (labs), organic chemistry (labs), English composition/writing/communications (6), genetics, humanities and social sciences (6), microbiology (lab), physics, statistics (3); C- or higher in required courses.
- Tests explicitly required
- NC State does not require the GRE for admission to the DVM program; submitted scores are not considered.
- Documents
- VMCAS application including NC State supplemental application; three eLOR recommendations.
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition and fees, years 1-3 and 4 (North Carolina resident), each full yearOther compulsory charge · mandatory | $26,067per year, Proposed 2026-2027 | Residents | 19 October 2026Source |
| Tuition and fees, years 1-3 and 4 (non-resident), each full yearOther compulsory charge · mandatory | $59,041per year, Proposed 2026-2027 | Non Residents | 19 October 2026Source |
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, intakes, clinical placement details, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)