Associate degree
Veterinary Technician Associate Degree
Northcentral Technical College · Veterinary Technician program (Agriculture Center of Excellence) · Wausau, Wisconsin, United States
- Official award
- Veterinary Technician Associate DegreeAAS
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for United States
- Format
- On campus65 Credit program; full-time option begins in the fall, another in the spring
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
65-credit associate degree combining classroom teaching, hands-on work with the NTC dairy operation and an internship in a veterinary practice; full-time fall or spring starts.
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- Veterinary Technician program (Agriculture Center of Excellence)
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The page says the program prepares learners to provide medical and nursing care for animals and lists Veterinary Technician as a career.“Veterinary Technician Associate Degree program will prepare learners with the skills necessary to provide medical and nursing care for a variety of animal species”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
- Further professional requirements
- Graduates are eligible to take the VTNE and the Wisconsin state exam to become Certified Veterinary Technicians.Source
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationOther statusUS
Scope: Veterinary Technology Program, Wausau, WI; Associate of/in Science; the AVMA list prints status INITIAL ACCREDITATION (initial accreditation January 26, 2023; next evaluation 2028)
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- 65 Credit program; full-time option begins in the fall, another in the spring
- Credits
- 65 creditsCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Clinical placement
- Internship in a veterinary practice
- Intakes
- Fall start, Spring start
- Campus
- Wausau campus1000 W. Campus Drive, Wausau, WI 54401
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Three foundational courses (Veterinary Medical Terminology, Principles of Animal Biology, Veterinary Medical Calculations) must be completed before beginning the program.
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Approximate Program Cost: tuition and feesOther compulsory charge | $12,299whole program, estimate shown on page (year not stated) | All students | 19 October 2026Source |
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, animal or veterinary experience requirement, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)