Veterinary Schools

Associate degree

Production and Companion Animal Vet Tech

Northeast Iowa Community College · Production and Companion Animal Vet Tech · Calmar, Iowa, United States

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
Associate of Applied ScienceAAS
Pathway
Not classified
Format
On campustwo-year program
Tuition
$18,270whole program, rates at the time of publication

About this program

Two-year AAS combining companion animal medicine with extra large animal focus; applicants complete a faculty interview and placement assessments.

Subject
Veterinary technology
Department
Production and Companion Animal Vet Tech
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.

Degree level
Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
Pathway
Pathway not classifiedNo source we could read states the professional purpose of this program. It is left unclassified rather than guessed from the award name.
Prior degree required
Not published

Accreditation, evaluation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.

  • Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationFull statusUS

    Scope: Veterinary Technology Program, Associate of Applied Science

    Dates: 31 January 2014 to not stated

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
two-year program
Credits
70 creditsCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
Intakes
Not published
Campus
NICC Calmar Campus1625 Highway 150 South, Calmar, IA 52132

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Animal or veterinary experience
Not published
Interview
Interview required
Previous qualification
applicants must be a high school graduate or equivalent
Tests explicitly required
a minimum ACCUPLACER WRITEPLACER score of 5, and a minimum ALEKS score of 45 (ACT and SAT scores also acceptable)

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
Approximate tuition and student fees for the program (as published)Tuition$18,270whole program, rates at the time of publicationTuition and Fees19 October 2026Source
Approximate out-of-state tuition and student fees for the program (as published)Tuition$20,790whole program, rates at the time of publicationOut-of-State Tuition and Fees19 October 2026Source

Published program total: $18,270 (All students). Whole-program tuition as published.

Clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, mandatory travel, placement expenses and insurance are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; ask what is extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: full-time or part-time options, intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement, clinical placement details, whether a prior degree is required.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction