Diploma
Veterinary Technology
Northern Alberta Institute of Technology (NAIT) · Veterinary Technology · Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
- Official award
- Diploma
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for Canada
- Format
- On campus
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Diploma program preparing students to work with veterinarians in patient care, diagnostics, treatment and wellness services. The public program page is script-rendered; duration, entry requirements and fees were not captured.
Role the program prepares for: Prepares students to be part of the veterinary healthcare team in clinics, research facilities, livestock operations and related settings.
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- Veterinary Technology
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- DiplomaA non-degree award, or a qualification at a level the national framework defines. It is not counted as an academic degree.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The program page says it prepares students to work with veterinarians in patient care, diagnostics, treatment and wellness.“This program prepares you to work with veterinarians to provide animal patient care, diagnostics, treatment and wellness services.”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordCanadian Veterinary Medical Association (CVMA) - Veterinary Technologist Program Accreditation CommitteeProgram accreditationFull statusCA
Scope: NAIT Edmonton campus program (CVMA VTPAC list, bracketed year as printed)
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- Not published
- Clinical components
- Experience in nursing, diagnostic imaging, laboratory procedures, anesthesia, surgical assistance and dental procedures
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Main Campus (Edmonton)11762 - 106 Street, Edmonton, Alberta T5G 2R1
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement, clinical placement details, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)