Diploma
Veterinary Technician
Northern College · School of Veterinary Sciences · Haileybury, Ontario, Canada
- Official award
- Ontario College Diploma
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for Canada
- Format
- On campusTwo years, four semesters
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Two-year, four-semester Ontario College Diploma at the Haileybury Campus with extensive lab sessions and externships; graduates may take the VTNE and seek OAVT registration.
Role the program prepares for: Prepares graduates to work as Registered Veterinary Technicians in practices, research institutions and zoos.
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- School of Veterinary Sciences
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- DiplomaA non-degree award, or a qualification at a level the national framework defines. It is not counted as an academic degree.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The page states graduates may take the VTNE and pursue OAVT registration as RVTs.“graduates are ready to take the Veterinary Technician National Examination (VTNE) and pursue registration from the OAVT to become a Registered Veterinary Technician”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
- Further professional requirements
- Graduates take the VTNE and pursue OAVT registration.Source
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry from secondary school | Two years, four semesters | – | See the college's admission requirements tab (not captured)Source |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordCanadian Veterinary Medical Association (CVMA) - Veterinary Technologist Program Accreditation CommitteeProgram accreditationFull statusCA
Scope: Northern College veterinary technician program, Haileybury (CVMA VTPAC list, bracketed year as printed)
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Two years, four semesters
- Laboratory work
- Extensive lab sessions
- Clinical placement
- Externships
- Intakes
- Fall 2026, Winter intake
- Campus
- Haileybury Campus640 Latchford St, Haileybury, Ontario P0J 1P0
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, animal or veterinary experience requirement, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)