Associate degree
Veterinary Technology, A.A.S. (online courses with campus labs and exams)
Northern Virginia Community College · Veterinary Technology Program · Sterling, Virginia, United States
- Official award
- Associate of Applied Science (A.A.S.) in Veterinary TechnologyAAS
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for United States
- Format
- HybridFull-time 2 years or part-time 3 years (the catalog also labels the part-time option '2-year' in the admission list)
- Tuition
- Not published
Hybrid program
About this program
Associate degree in veterinary technology taught through online courses, with laboratory review and practical examinations at the Loudoun Campus and concurrent work at a veterinary facility.
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- Veterinary Technology Program
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The catalog says the program is AVMA CVTEA-accredited, awards the A.A.S. and prepares students for the VTNE.“We award an Associate of Applied Science (A.A.S.) degree and prepare you for the Veterinary Technician National Examination (VTNE), an entry-level national licensing exam.”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
- Further professional requirements
- Prepares for the VTNE; students pay individual state licensure and national exam fees.Source
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Associate in Applied Science, Northern Virginia Community College (as listed by AVMA among distance education programs)
Dates: 20 February 2004 to not stated
Study structure
- Delivery
- HybridPart online and part in person (campus attendance, laboratory work, attendance-based exams or clinical placements). A hybrid program is never described as fully online.
- Online instruction
- Mostly online
- Mandatory campus attendance
- Yes
- In-person assessment
- Laboratory review and practical examinations are held at NOVA's Loudoun Campus.
- Laboratory work
- Laboratory review and practical examinations at the Loudoun Campus; students with a student visa must take all VET-specific courses on campus.
- Mandatory clinical or workplace placement
- Students must work an average minimum of 10 hours per week (full-time 2-year option) or 20 hours per week (part-time option) at a veterinary facility; a veterinary mentor must be identified before applying.
- Placement arrangement
- Student arranges the placement
- Must already work in a veterinary setting
- Yes
- Placement site approval
- Not published
- Live attendance
- Live attendance not published
- International enrolment
- Not published
- Enrollment restrictions
- Special rules apply to online courses offered to students living outside of Virginia (NOVA state authorization page). Students with a student visa are not required to work and must take all VET-specific courses on campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time, Part-time
- Duration
- Full-time 2 years or part-time 3 years (the catalog also labels the part-time option '2-year' in the admission list)
- Credits
- 68 Credits (catalog total including prerequisites)Credit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Campus attendance
- Laboratory review and practical examinations are held at NOVA's Loudoun Campus.
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Loudoun Campus1000 Harry Flood Byrd Hwy., Sterling, VA 20164
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Animal or veterinary experience requiredWorking an average minimum of 10 (full-time) or 20 (part-time) hours per week at a veterinary facility.
- Interview
- Not published
- Science prerequisites
- VET 111 Anatomy & Physiology of Domestic Animals; CHM 101 or CHM 111; MTH 133; ENG 111; SDV 100/101 (grade C or better)
- Documents
- Letter of intent, current resume, official college transcripts; applicants must be 18 at time of application.
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, intakes, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)