Veterinary Schools

Associate degree

Veterinary Technology (Associate Degree)

Northwestern State University of Louisiana · Veterinary Technology Program (School of STEM) · Natchitoches, Louisiana, United States

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
Associate Degree in Veterinary Technology
Pathway
Veterinary technologyStated for United States
Format
On campus
Tuition
Not published

About this program

Associate degree of 82 credit hours; VTEC courses are taught in person on the Natchitoches campus, with internship courses completed at approved veterinary hospitals.

Subject
Veterinary technology
Department
Veterinary Technology Program (School of STEM)
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.

Degree level
Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
Pathway
Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
Why we classify it this way
The program page states the program prepares graduates for the veterinary technician credential.“Either of these degrees provide students with the requirements necessary to sit for the Veterinary Technician National Examination (VTNE).”Source
Prior degree required
Not published
Further professional requirements
After the VTNE and registration with the State Board of Veterinary Medicine, the graduate is credentialed as a Registered Veterinary Technician (RVT).Source

Accreditation, evaluation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.

  • Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationFull statusUS

    Scope: Veterinary Technology Program, Associate Degree (listed together with the Bachelor of Science)

    Dates: 1 April 1981 to not stated

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
Not published
Credits
82 credit hoursCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
Clinical placement
VTEC 2900 and 4900 are internship courses that can be completed at most well equipped veterinary hospitals across the state or even the nation. However, these internship sites must be approved by the director of the program prior to enrollment.
Intakes
Not published
Campus
NSU Natchitoches campus225 Bienvenu Hall, Natchitoches, LA 71497

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Animal or veterinary experience
Not published
Interview
Not published

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement, whether a prior degree is required.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction