Foundation degree
Veterinary Nursing FdSc
Nottingham Trent University · Veterinary Nursing Centre, Brackenhurst Campus (School of Animal, Rural and Environmental Sciences) · Southwell, England, United Kingdom
- Official award
- Foundation degree (FdSc) in Veterinary NursingFdSc
- Pathway
- Veterinary nursingStated for United Kingdom
- Format
- On campusThree years full-time including a learning in the workplace year
- Tuition
- £10,050per year, 2027 entry
About this program
Three-year full-time foundation degree at Brackenhurst including a minimum of 1,800 hours of clinical practice in approved veterinary training practices; graduates can apply to the RCVS Register of Veterinary Nurses and may progress to the BSc top-up.
- Subject
- Veterinary nursing
- Department
- Veterinary Nursing Centre, Brackenhurst Campus (School of Animal, Rural and Environmental Sciences)
- Awarding body
- Nottingham Trent University
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Foundation degreeA foundation degree (for example FdSc), typically the first stage toward a bachelor’s qualification.
- Pathway
- Veterinary nursingPrograms preparing veterinary nurses. The role, title and regulation differ by country and are not interchangeable with veterinarians or technicians.
- Why we classify it this way
- The page states that graduates of the RCVS-accredited course can apply to enter the RCVS Register of Veterinary Nurses.“It's accredited by the Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons (RCVS), which means once you graduate, you can apply to enter the RCVS Register of Veterinary Nurses”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
- Further professional requirements
- Graduates register with the RCVS as a Registered Veterinary Nurse after graduating.Source
- International applicants and graduates
- The course is not open to students requiring a Tier 4 / Student Route visa.Source
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry from secondary school | Three years full-time including a learning in the workplace year | – | 64 UCAS Tariff points including an A-level scienceSource |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordRoyal College of Veterinary Surgeons (RCVS)Professional-body recognitionFull statusUK
Scope: RCVS register lists Nottingham Trent University as an accredited institution (accreditation year 2023, full accreditation); the register page does not itemise qualifications
Dates: 1 January 2023 to not stated
Stated by the schoolRoyal College of Veterinary Surgeons (RCVS)Eligibility toward registrationUK
Scope: University states graduates can apply to enter the RCVS Register of Veterinary Nurses
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Three years full-time including a learning in the workplace year
- Credits
- 120 120 credits studied each yearCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Campus attendance
- Course delivery: On-campus (Brackenhurst)
- Clinical placement
- You'll complete a minimum of 1,800 hours in clinical practice across two key blocks: 12 weeks between June and August (between Year One and Year Two) 37 weeks from July to April (in your final year).minimum of 1,800 hours
- Intakes
- September 2027
- Campus
- Brackenhurst Campus
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Animal or veterinary experience requiredA total of two weeks' (70 hours) work experience in a small animal veterinary practice, completed after September 2024; one week before application and the rest before 30 April 2027
- Interview
- Interview required
- Previous qualification
- Standard offer: 64 UCAS Tariff points from up to three qualifications, including an A-level Science subject grade C or equivalent; GCSEs English Language, Science and Maths grade C / 4
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition, UK students, per yearTuition · mandatory | £10,050per year, 2027 entry | UK students | 19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
| Tuition, international students, per yearTuition · mandatory | £18,400per year, 2027 entry | International students | 19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
| Reduced tuition for the compulsory clinical practice yearTuition · mandatory | £1,905per year, 2027 entry | reduced fee for the clinical practice year | 19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, mandatory travel, placement expenses and insurance are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; ask what is extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)