Veterinary Schools

Research doctorate (PhD)

Doctoral Program of Veterinary Science

Obihiro University of Agriculture and Veterinary Medicine · Department of Veterinary Medicine / School of Cooperative Veterinary Medicine · Obihiro, Hokkaido, Japan

Official program pageOfficial admissionsRequest information
Official award
Doctor of Veterinary Science
Pathway
Science and researchStated for Japan
Format
On campus4 years
Tuition
Not published

About this program

Four-year doctoral programme preparing researchers and clinical veterinarians in basic, pathological, applied and clinical veterinary science.

Subject
Veterinary science
Department
Department of Veterinary Medicine / School of Cooperative Veterinary Medicine
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.

Degree level
Research doctorate (PhD)A research doctorate with a veterinary focus. It does not qualify anyone to practise as a veterinarian.
Pathway
Veterinary science and researchAcademic and research programs (veterinary science, biomedical sciences, public health, epidemiology, pathology and similar). They do not by themselves qualify graduates to practise as veterinarians.
Why we classify it this way
The page describes preparation for research and education leadership in veterinary science, or work as clinical veterinarians; it is a doctoral research programme.“are prepared to play a leading role in education and research that contribute to the enhancement of food safety as well as animal and human health.”Source
Prior degree required
Not published
Entry routes and duration
RouteDurationCreditsRequirement
Depends on previous study4-year––Source

Accreditation, evaluation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.

No accreditation, recognition or registration-pathway record for this program has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
4 years
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Obihiro campusInada-cho, Obihiro, Hokkaido 080-8555

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Animal or veterinary experience
Not published
Interview
Not published
Official instructions
Application instructions

Research degree details

Department
Department of Veterinary Medicine

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement, clinical placement details, whether a prior degree is required, accreditation or recognition record.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Sources (checked 19 October 2026)

Suggest a correction