Veterinary Schools

Bachelor’s degree

School of Cooperative Veterinary Medicine (Cooperative Veterinary Education Program, VetNorth Japan)

Obihiro University of Agriculture and Veterinary Medicine · Department of Veterinary Medicine / School of Cooperative Veterinary Medicine · Obihiro, Hokkaido, Japan

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
Not stated on the fetched pages (six-year veterinary programme; degree title not printed)
Pathway
Veterinary medicineStated for Japan
Format
On campus6 years
Tuition
Not published

About this program

Six-year veterinary programme run jointly with Hokkaido University. Students enrol at either university; production-animal clinical training takes place at Obihiro and companion-animal training at Hokkaido.

Subject
Veterinary medicine
Department
Department of Veterinary Medicine / School of Cooperative Veterinary Medicine
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.

Degree level
Bachelor’s degreeA first degree. A bachelor’s title does not by itself show whether a program leads to veterinarian, nurse or technician roles: the study pathway is shown separately.
Pathway
Veterinary medicinePrograms the source describes as the academic and clinical qualification toward becoming a veterinarian in the stated jurisdiction. Registration or licensing normally requires further steps, and a qualification from one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Why we classify it this way
The joint programme description covers clinical rotations and the National Examination for Veterinarians.“The National Examination for Veterinarians is given in mid-February, and the results are announced in mid-March.”Source
Prior degree required
Not published
Further professional requirements
Graduates take the National Examination for Veterinarians (mid-February, results mid-March).Source
Entry routes and duration
RouteDurationCreditsRequirement
Entry from secondary schoolsix academic years (1st to 6th year described)––Source

Accreditation, evaluation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.

  • Verified in official recordEuropean Association of Establishments for Veterinary Education (EAEVE) - ESEVTProgram evaluation statusOther statusEU

    Reference: ESEVT Status of EAEVE Establishments, updated after ECOVE meeting 27.05.2026

    Scope: Hokkaido & Obihiro (VetNorth Japan) joint programme, EAEVE Associate; ESEVT status Accreditation (SOP 2016), ECOVE decision December 2019, status granted July 2019 until July 2026. The 27 May 2026 table shows no later decision; the stated end month has passed as of the check date and a re-evaluation outcome was not found.

    Further requirements: Check EAEVE for any decision after 27 May 2026.

  • Stated by the schoolEuropean Association of Establishments for Veterinary Education (EAEVE)Program evaluation statusFull statusEU

    Scope: University statement: the Cooperative Veterinary Education Program underwent a Full Visitation by EAEVE in July 2019 and received full accreditation in December 2019.

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Full-time
Duration
6 years
Clinical components
Production animal clinical training at Obihiro; companion animal training at Hokkaido University.
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Obihiro campusInada-cho, Obihiro, Hokkaido 080-8555

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Animal or veterinary experience
Not published
Interview
Not published
Previous qualification
Entrance through the entrance examination of the chosen university.

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement, clinical placement details, whether a prior degree is required.

Sources and how this was checked