Professional doctorate
Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM)
The Ohio State University · College of Veterinary Medicine · Columbus, Ohio, United States
- Official award
- Doctor of Veterinary MedicineDVM
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicineStated for United States
- Format
- On campusFour years
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Four-year professional DVM following pre-professional study, using a competency-based curriculum with hands-on clinical learning across a spectrum of care.
- Subject
- Veterinary medicine
- Department
- College of Veterinary Medicine
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Professional doctorateA professional doctorate that is itself the entry qualification (for example the DVM or VMD). It is listed separately from research PhDs and is not equivalent to them.
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicinePrograms the source describes as the academic and clinical qualification toward becoming a veterinarian in the stated jurisdiction. Registration or licensing normally requires further steps, and a qualification from one country does not guarantee registration in another.
- Why we classify it this way
- The program is described as preparing graduates for veterinary general practice.“Preparing for Excellence in Veterinary General Practice”Source
- Prior degree required
- No
- Further professional requirements
- The college reports NAVLE pass rates against the COE 80% outcome standard (Nov-Dec 2025 and April 2026 ultimate pass rate 92.4%).Source
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| After pre-veterinary coursework | Four-year program following three to four years of pre-professional study | – | Pre-professional study with specified prerequisite coursesSource |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Council on Education (COE)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Doctor of Veterinary Medicine program, The Ohio State University (Columbus, OH); Status Accredited, last evaluation 2021, next evaluation 2028
Stated by the schoolAVMA Council on Education (COE)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: School statement: Full Accreditation received July 2022; next site visit expected Fall 2028
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Four years
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Columbus campus (College of Veterinary Medicine)
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Animal or veterinary experience recommendedNo minimum number of hours with a veterinarian or animal experience, but most applicants demonstrate considerable experience.
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Minimum overall GPA 3.2, science GPA 3.0, last 30 hours GPA 3.0 (competitive averages are higher); applicants dismissed from another veterinary school are not considered.
- Science prerequisites
- Biochemistry, microbiology (lab), physiology, communication (public speaking) and science electives; minimum 3.0 average and C or better in biochemistry, microbiology, physiology and communication.
- Tests explicitly required
- The GRE is no longer required or reviewed.
- Documents
- VMCAS application, transcripts, letters of recommendation, supplemental application.
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition and fees paid to Ohio State, VME 1 (Ohio resident)Other compulsory charge · mandatory | $40,440per year, 2026-2027 (9 months) | Ohio Resident Cost of Attendance | 19 October 2026Source |
| Non-Ohio resident surcharge, first yearOther compulsory charge · mandatory | $47,388per year, 2026-2027 (VME 1) | Non-Ohio Resident Cost of Attendance | 19 October 2026Source |
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, intakes, clinical placement details.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)