Professional doctorate
Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM)
Oklahoma State University · College of Veterinary Medicine · Stillwater, Oklahoma, United States
- Official award
- Doctor of Veterinary MedicineDVM
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicineStated for United States
- Format
- On campusFour years professional program
- Tuition
- $21,230per year, Fall 2026 - Summer 2027
About this program
Four-year professional DVM with a rural veterinary medicine emphasis, following three to four years of pre-veterinary undergraduate coursework.
- Subject
- Veterinary medicine
- Department
- College of Veterinary Medicine
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Professional doctorateA professional doctorate that is itself the entry qualification (for example the DVM or VMD). It is listed separately from research PhDs and is not equivalent to them.
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicinePrograms the source describes as the academic and clinical qualification toward becoming a veterinarian in the stated jurisdiction. Registration or licensing normally requires further steps, and a qualification from one country does not guarantee registration in another.
- Why we classify it this way
- The page describes the DVM as the four-year professional program that follows pre-veterinary coursework; the college trains practice-ready professionals.“students must complete three to four years of pre-veterinary undergraduate coursework followed by four years of a professional program in a college of veterinary medicine”Source
- Prior degree required
- No
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| After pre-veterinary coursework | Three to four years pre-veterinary coursework followed by four years professional program | 64 | 64 credit hours of required pre-vet courses; overall GPA at least 3.0 and required-course GPA at least 2.8Source |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Council on Education (COE)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Doctor of Veterinary Medicine program, Oklahoma State University (Stillwater, OK); Status Accredited, last evaluation 2024, next evaluation 2031
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Four years professional program
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Stillwater campus (College of Veterinary Medicine)
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Overall GPA at least 3.0 and required-course GPA at least 2.8 before the fall term of application; within two semesters of completing all pre-veterinary requirements (by June 1 following application).
- Science prerequisites
- Animal nutrition 3, biochemistry 3, biological science with lab 8, chemistry I and II with lab 8, English 9, genetics 3, humanities/social sciences, organic chemistry, physics I and II with lab 8, statistics 3; total 64 credit hours. Math and science within eight years.
- Documents
- VMCAS application, transcripts via VMCAS by September 15, custom questions, non-refundable OSU CVM supplemental processing fee.
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition, first-year full year (Oklahoma resident)Tuition · mandatory | $21,230per year, Fall 2026 - Summer 2027 | Resident | 19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
| Tuition, first-year full year (nonresident)Tuition · mandatory | $48,830per year, Fall 2026 - Summer 2027 | Nonresident | 19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, mandatory travel, placement expenses and insurance are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; ask what is extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement, clinical placement details.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)