Veterinary Schools

Professional doctorate

Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM)

Oregon State University · Carlson College of Veterinary Medicine · Corvallis, Oregon, United States

Official program pageOfficial admissionsRequest information
Official award
Doctor of Veterinary MedicineDVM
Pathway
Veterinary medicineStated for United States
Format
On campusFour years
Tuition
Not published

About this program

Four-year in-person DVM: years one to three are mainly coursework and year four is a clinical year of rotations; it cannot be completed online.

Subject
Veterinary medicine
Department
Carlson College of Veterinary Medicine
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.

Degree level
Professional doctorateA professional doctorate that is itself the entry qualification (for example the DVM or VMD). It is listed separately from research PhDs and is not equivalent to them.
Pathway
Veterinary medicinePrograms the source describes as the academic and clinical qualification toward becoming a veterinarian in the stated jurisdiction. Registration or licensing normally requires further steps, and a qualification from one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Why we classify it this way
The page describes the DVM as core training in comparative biology and medicine across all primary clinical disciplines and domestic species, delivered in person.“The Doctor of Veterinary Medicine program emphasizes the importance of core training in comparative biology and medicine, including all primary clinical disciplines and domestic animal species.”Source
Prior degree required
No
Entry routes and duration
RouteDurationCreditsRequirement
After pre-veterinary courseworkFour-year DVM program–Prerequisite courses; bachelor degree not required; science GPA 3.0 or higherSource

Accreditation, evaluation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.

  • Verified in official recordAVMA Council on Education (COE)Program accreditationFull statusUS

    Scope: Doctor of Veterinary Medicine program, Oregon State University (Corvallis, OR); Status Accredited, last evaluation 2021, next evaluation 2028

  • Stated by the schoolAVMA Council on Education (COE)Program accreditationFull statusUS

    Scope: School statement that the college is fully accredited by the AVMA COE

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Full-time
Duration
Four years
Clinical components
Year four is the clinical year with rotations in the teaching hospital, Oregon Humane Society and elective partners.
Campus attendance
In person on the Corvallis campus; not possible to complete online.
Intakes
September 2027
Campus
Corvallis campus (Carlson College of Veterinary Medicine)Magruder Hall, 700 SW 30th St., Corvallis, OR 97331

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Animal or veterinary experience
Animal or veterinary experience recommendedNo minimum hours required, but generally applicants with 400+ hours of veterinary experience are more competitive.
Interview
Not published
Previous qualification
Science GPA of 3.0 or higher as calculated by VMCAS; prerequisite courses with C- or better.
Science prerequisites
Introductory biology sequence, general chemistry sequence with labs, organic chemistry (minimum 1 semester), genetics, and further lower- and upper-division science prerequisites; online lectures and labs accepted; no more than two prerequisites in progress at application.
Prior degree
A bachelor's degree is not required.
Tests explicitly required
Casper (online situational judgment test) is required for the 2026-2027 application process, to be taken no later than August 25, 2026; GRE scores optional.
Documents
VMCAS application and letters of recommendation, transcripts to VMCAS, OSU supplemental application questions and $60 supplemental fee.
Deadlines
  • Transcripts and all VMCAS application materials due September 15, 2026 (11:59 p.m. EST) for Fall 2027 · September 2027 · this date has passed; check the current cycle
  • Admitted students must accept or decline by April 15, 2027 · September 2027
Official instructions
Application instructions

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
OSU supplemental application feeApplication fee · mandatory$60one-time, 2026-2027 cycleAll applicants19 October 2026Source
Annual tuition and fees (Resident/WICHE)Other compulsory charge · mandatory$35,295per year, 2026-2027Resident/WICHE19 October 2026Source
Annual tuition and fees (Non-Resident)Other compulsory charge · mandatory$68,004per year, 2026-2027Non-Resident19 October 2026Source

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, clinical placement details.

Sources and how this was checked