Associate degree
Veterinary Technology, A.A.S.
Palo Alto College · Veterinary Technology Department (Health & Biosciences Institute) · San Antonio, Texas, United States
- Official award
- Associate of Applied Science in Veterinary TechnologyAAS
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for United States
- Format
- On campus2-year full-time cohort program
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Two-year full-time cohort program taught face to face in a 15,000 sq. ft. facility with animal-care duties including weekends and holidays; the page publishes approximate 2026-2027 expenses by residency category.
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- Veterinary Technology Department (Health & Biosciences Institute)
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The page says the program meets Texas licensure education requirements and graduates are eligible for the VTNE and state LVT exam.“The Veterinary Technology AAS program at Palo Alto College meets the educational requirements for licensure in the state of Texas.”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
- Further professional requirements
- Graduates are eligible for the VTNE and the state LVT exam; the AAS does not guarantee passage and a graduate is not an LVT until state requirements are met.Source
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Veterinary Technology Program, San Antonio, TX; Associate of Applied Science; initial accreditation April 1998; next evaluation 2027
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- 2-year full-time cohort program
- Campus attendance
- Face-to-Face
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Palo Alto College campus1400 W. Villaret Boulevard, San Antonio, TX 78224
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Animal or veterinary experience requiredApplicants are awarded points for clinical experience hours beyond the 80 required.
- Interview
- Not published
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Approximated expenses, In-District (tuition, program tuition, fees, books, other, credentialing)Other compulsory charge | $14,048whole program, Approximated Expenses 2026-2027 | In-District | 19 October 2026Source |
| Approximated expenses, Out-of-DistrictOther compulsory charge | $18,521whole program, Approximated Expenses 2026-2027 | Out-of-District | 19 October 2026Source |
| Approximated expenses, Out-of-State/InternationalOther compulsory charge | $27,782whole program, Approximated Expenses 2026-2027 | Out-of-State/International | 19 October 2026Source |
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, intakes, clinical placement details, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)