Associate degree
Veterinary Technology
Parkland College · Health Professions - Veterinary Technology · Champaign, Illinois, United States
- Official award
- Associate in Applied Sciences (A.A.S.) in Veterinary TechnologyAAS
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for United States
- Format
- On campustwo-year program
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Two-year selective-admission program that prepares students for the national veterinary technician board exam.
Role the program prepares for: Prepares students to become certified veterinary technicians working in the veterinary health care team.
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- Health Professions - Veterinary Technology
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The program page states the program prepares graduates for the veterinary technician credential.“Train to become a Certified Veterinary Technician by completing our exciting two-year program and taking the national board exam.”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Veterinary Technology Program, Associate of Applied Science
Dates: 1 November 1976 to not stated
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- two-year program
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Parkland College main campus2400 W. Bradley Avenue, Champaign, IL 61821
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Estimated total program cost (tuition, fees, books), in-districtOther compulsory charge | $21,145.33whole program, 2025-2026 rates | in-district | 19 October 2026Source |
| Estimated total program cost (tuition, fees, books), out of districtOther compulsory charge | $32,386.66whole program, 2025-2026 rates | out of district | 19 October 2026Source |
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement, clinical placement details, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)