Bachelor’s degree
Veterinary Technology Bachelor Degree Program (online)
Penn Foster College · Veterinary Studies · No campus · institution based in United States
- Official award
- Bachelor's degree in Veterinary Technology (AVMA lists: Bachelor of Applied Science)
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for United States
- Format
- Online4 semesters after transfer credits; self-paced
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Online bachelor's completion program for graduates of AVMA-accredited veterinary technician associate programs, with capstone tracks in practice management or technician specialist.
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- Veterinary Studies
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Bachelor’s degreeA first degree. A bachelor’s title does not by itself show whether a program leads to veterinarian, nurse or technician roles: the study pathway is shown separately.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The page positions the bachelor's as advanced training beyond the entry-level veterinary technician associate degree, accredited with the CVTEA.“Penn Foster's Vet Tech Program is accredited through AVMA-CVTEA, which includes the Veterinary Technology Bachelor of Science portion.”Source
- Prior degree required
- Yes
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Existing professional qualification required | 4 semesters after transfer of associate degree credits | 60 | A 60-credit hour AVMA-accredited veterinary technician associate degree and at least 15 hours of transferable general education.Source |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationProvisional or probationary statusUS
Scope: Bachelor of Applied Science, Veterinary Technician Distance Education Program (as listed by AVMA)
Dates: 5 January 2006 to not stated
Further requirements: AVMA lists the classification as probationary accreditation (Standard 8a); initial accreditation date printed as January 5, 2006.
Study structure
- Delivery
- OnlineAcademic instruction is online. Check the details for campus visits, laboratory work, attendance-based exams and mandatory clinical or workplace placements, which can still apply.
- Online instruction
- Online classroom instruction
- Mandatory campus attendance
- No
- Mandatory clinical or workplace placement
- The program page read does not describe a clinical placement for the bachelor's portion.
- Placement arrangement
- No placement published
- Must already work in a veterinary setting
- Not published
- Placement site approval
- Not published
- Required professional status or prior education
- Designed for students who already hold an AVMA-accredited veterinary technology associate degree (60 credit hours) with at least 15 transferable general education hours.
- Live attendance
- Live attendance not published
- International enrolment
- Not published
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- 4 semesters after transfer credits; self-paced
- Intakes
- Not published
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- AVMA-accredited veterinary technician associate degree (60 credit hours)
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)