Associate degree
Veterinary Technology, A.A.S.
Piedmont Technical College · Veterinary Technology program · Newberry, South Carolina, United States
- Official award
- Associate in Applied Science in Veterinary TechnologyAAS
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for United States
- Format
- On campusFive-semester program that starts in the fall of each year
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Five-semester associate degree starting each fall; students train with a local animal shelter and visit farms for large animal work.
Role the program prepares for: Veterinary technician working under a licensed veterinarian.
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- Veterinary Technology program
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The page says the AVMA-accredited program prepares graduates to sit for the VTNE to become licensed veterinary technicians.“Piedmont Technical College's AVMA-accredited Veterinary Technology program prepares graduates to sit for the Veterinary Technician National Examination to become fully licensed veterinary technicians.”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
- Further professional requirements
- Graduation from an AVMA-accredited program is needed to sit for the VTNE.Source
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Piedmont Technical College, Newberry Campus; Associate of Applied Science; initial accreditation December 5, 2008; next evaluation 2030
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- Five-semester program that starts in the fall of each year
- Clinical components
- Work with the local animal shelter in Newberry County; visits to local farms for large animal medicine classes
- Intakes
- Fall (annual start)
- Campus
- Newberry campus1922 Wilson Road, Newberry, SC 29108
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Special program admission criteria must be completed before applying for the clinical phase; a student may be admitted to the college at any time to complete prerequisite and general education coursework.
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, animal or veterinary experience requirement, clinical placement details, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)