Associate degree
Veterinary Technology (A.A.S.)
Pierpont Community & Technical College · Veterinary Technology Program · Clarksburg, West Virginia, United States
- Official award
- Associate of Applied Science in Veterinary TechnologyAAS
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for United States
- Format
- On campus
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Full-time, cohort-based associate degree that begins each fall and is open enrollment; students provide their own transportation to clinical sites.
Role the program prepares for: Veterinary technician.
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- Veterinary Technology Program
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The page says the program prepares students for careers as veterinary technicians working with veterinarians.“This program is designed to prepare students for careers in the dynamic field of veterinary medicine as Veterinary Technicians, who work with veterinarians in all aspects of animal health, disease, and welfare.”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Veterinary Technology Program, Clarksburg, WV; Associate of Applied Science; initial accreditation April 1981; next evaluation 2029
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Not published
- Intakes
- Fall (cohort begins in the fall)
- Campus
- Clarksburg (Gaston Caperton Center)501 W Main Street, Clarksburg, WV 26301
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Open-enrollment program; students must meet essential functions, provide own transportation to clinical sites, and maintain C or better in program courses and a 2.0 GPA.
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, duration, animal or veterinary experience requirement, clinical placement details, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)