Associate degree
Veterinary Technician Associate Degree Program - Houston
Pima Medical Institute · Veterinary Technician associate degree program · Houston, Texas, United States
- Official award
- Associate of Applied ScienceAAS
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for United States
- Format
- Hybrid~18 months (El Paso program page note: approximately 21 months)
- Tuition
- Not published
Hybrid program
About this program
About 18-month associate degree that includes the Veterinary Assistant certificate content; on-ground with hybrid options at some campuses and externship hours in person. Credit and hour totals vary by location.
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- Veterinary Technician associate degree program
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The page says the program develops entry-level veterinary technicians and prepares graduates to sit for the VTNE.“To develop in students the intrapersonal and professional skills needed to perform as competent entry-level veterinary technicians”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
- Further professional requirements
- Graduates are eligible to apply to sit for the VTNE; certification and state registration requirements vary.Source
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Pima Medical Institute-Houston; Associate of Applied Science; initial accreditation August 22, 2014; next evaluation 2030
Study structure
- Delivery
- HybridPart online and part in person (campus attendance, laboratory work, attendance-based exams or clinical placements). A hybrid program is never described as fully online.
- Online instruction
- Blended with required campus elements
- Mandatory campus attendance
- Yes
- Laboratory work
- Hands-on laboratory practice and clinical experiences
- Mandatory clinical or workplace placement
- Clinical externship hours must be completed entirely in person.
- Placement arrangement
- Placement arrangement not published
- Must already work in a veterinary setting
- Not published
- Placement site approval
- Not published
- Live attendance
- Live attendance not published
- International enrolment
- Not published
- Enrollment restrictions
- The program is available to residents of Arizona, California, Colorado, Nevada, Texas, and Washington.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- ~18 months (El Paso program page note: approximately 21 months)
- Clinical components
- Externship hours 240-465 depending on location
- Campus attendance
- On-ground attendance required at the enrolled campus
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- PMI Houston11125 Equity Drive, Houston, TX 77041
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)