Veterinary Schools

Associate degree

Veterinary Technician Associate Degree Program - Renton

Pima Medical Institute · Veterinary Technician associate degree program · Renton, Washington, United States

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
Associate of Applied ScienceAAS
Pathway
Veterinary technologyStated for United States
Format
Hybrid~18 months (El Paso program page note: approximately 21 months)
Tuition
Not published

Hybrid program

Part of this program is taught in person. It is not described as fully online. Professional pathway status is recorded separately from delivery.

About this program

About 18-month associate degree that includes the Veterinary Assistant certificate content; on-ground with hybrid options at some campuses and externship hours in person. Credit and hour totals vary by location.

Subject
Veterinary technology
Department
Veterinary Technician associate degree program
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.

Degree level
Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
Pathway
Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
Why we classify it this way
The page says the program develops entry-level veterinary technicians and prepares graduates to sit for the VTNE.“To develop in students the intrapersonal and professional skills needed to perform as competent entry-level veterinary technicians”Source
Prior degree required
Not published
Further professional requirements
Graduates are eligible to apply to sit for the VTNE; certification and state registration requirements vary.Source

Accreditation, evaluation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.

  • Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationFull statusUS

    Scope: Pima Medical Institute-Renton; Associate of Applied Science; initial accreditation March 20, 2009; next evaluation 2031

Study structure

Delivery
HybridPart online and part in person (campus attendance, laboratory work, attendance-based exams or clinical placements). A hybrid program is never described as fully online.
Online instruction
Blended with required campus elements
Mandatory campus attendance
Yes
Laboratory work
Hands-on laboratory practice and clinical experiences
Mandatory clinical or workplace placement
Clinical externship hours must be completed entirely in person.
Placement arrangement
Placement arrangement not published
Must already work in a veterinary setting
Not published
Placement site approval
Not published
Live attendance
Live attendance not published
International enrolment
Not published
Enrollment restrictions
The program is available to residents of Arizona, California, Colorado, Nevada, Texas, and Washington.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
~18 months (El Paso program page note: approximately 21 months)
Clinical components
Externship hours 240-465 depending on location
Campus attendance
On-ground attendance required at the enrolled campus
Intakes
Not published
Campus
PMI Renton555 S. Renton Village Place, Suite 110, Renton, WA 98057

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Animal or veterinary experience
Not published
Interview
Not published

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement, whether a prior degree is required.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction

Veterinary Technician Associate Degree… | Veterinary Schools