Veterinary Schools

Associate degree

Associate of Applied Science in Veterinary Technology (Distance Learning, VTDL)

Purdue University · Purdue University College of Veterinary Medicine · No campus · institution based in United States

Official program pageOfficial admissionsRequest information
Official award
Associate of Applied Science in Veterinary TechnologyAAS
Pathway
Veterinary technologyStated for United States
Format
OnlineAs little as eight consecutive semesters
Tuition
$227per credit, current page (academic year not printed)

About this program

Online part-time associate degree of 25 asynchronous courses plus 15 hands-on clinical mentorships completed at a veterinary facility where the student works or volunteers.

Subject
Veterinary technology
Department
Purdue University College of Veterinary Medicine
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.

Degree level
Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
Pathway
Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
Why we classify it this way
The program page says the curriculum builds the knowledge and skills to succeed as a veterinary technician/nurse and graduates may sit the VTNE.“The curriculum allows a student to gain the information, knowledge, and the skills necessary to succeed as a veterinary nurse.”Source
Prior degree required
Not published
International applicants and graduates
Students outside the United States may take the program if they meet Purdue admissions requirements and have internet access.Source

Accreditation, evaluation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.

  • Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationFull statusUS

    Scope: Purdue University Distance Learning Program, Associate of Applied Science; initial accreditation July 31, 2002; next evaluation 2030 (as printed in the CVTEA list). This accreditation is separate from the COE accreditation of the DVM.

    Dates: 31 July 2002 to not stated

Study structure

Delivery
OnlineAcademic instruction is online. Check the details for campus visits, laboratory work, attendance-based exams and mandatory clinical or workplace placements, which can still apply.
Online instruction
Online classroom instruction
Mandatory campus attendance
No
Campus residencies or workshops
Participation in fast-track labs or on-campus workshops is not required for program completion.
Laboratory work
Hands-on skills are documented through clinical mentorships, typically by video documentation assessed against performance criteria.
Mandatory clinical or workplace placement
15 task-based clinical mentorships must be completed at a veterinary facility, supervised by a licensed DVM or credentialed veterinary technician.
Placement arrangement
Student arranges the placement
Must already work in a veterinary setting
Yes
Placement site approval
Not published
Live attendance
No live sessions
International enrolment
Yes
Study mode
Part-time
Duration
As little as eight consecutive semesters
Credits
64 credit hoursCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
Clinical placement
15 clinical mentorships completed at a veterinary facility where the student works or volunteers (task-based, not time-based)
Intakes
Not published

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Animal or veterinary experience
Not published
Interview
Not published
Previous qualification
High school graduation or equivalent; minimum high school subject prerequisites; at least 18 years old before entering clinical courses; ACT/SAT unless 23+ or 24+ college hours
Documents
High school transcript; ACT/SAT scores unless waived; official college transcripts if applicable
Official instructions
Application instructions

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
VTDL Partner Tuition Rate (16% discount for qualifying practices) per credit hourTuition$227per credit, current page (academic year not printed)Partner Tuition Rate19 October 2026Source

No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.

Clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, mandatory travel, placement expenses and insurance are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; ask what is extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement, whether a prior degree is required.

Sources and how this was checked