Veterinary Schools

Associate degree

Associate in Applied Science in Veterinary Technology (on campus)

Purdue University · Purdue University College of Veterinary Medicine · West Lafayette, Indiana, United States

Official program pageOfficial admissionsRequest information
Official award
Associate in Applied Science (AAS) in Veterinary TechnologyAAS
Pathway
Veterinary technologyStated for United States
Format
On campusBegins in the clinical portion (Year Two) of the on-campus program
Tuition
Not published

About this program

On-campus associate degree in veterinary technology for students with a degree in another major or who have already completed the Year One general-education courses.

Subject
Veterinary technology
Department
Purdue University College of Veterinary Medicine
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.

Degree level
Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
Pathway
Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
Why we classify it this way
The curriculum page states the AAS lets students with another degree become eligible to practice as credentialed veterinary technicians.“wish to complete the AAS so they are eligible to practice as credentialed veterinary technicians”Source
Prior degree required
Not published

Accreditation, evaluation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.

  • Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationFull statusUS

    Scope: Purdue University On-Campus Program (Associate of Applied Science and Bachelor of Science, listed by AVMA as Bachelor of Science in Veterinary Nursing); initial accreditation November 1976; next evaluation 2030 (as printed)

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Full-time
Duration
Begins in the clinical portion (Year Two) of the on-campus program
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Purdue University College of Veterinary Medicine (West Lafayette)625 Harrison Street, West Lafayette, IN 47907

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Animal or veterinary experience
Not published
Interview
Not published
Previous qualification
Previous degree recommended
Official instructions
Application instructions

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement, clinical placement details, whether a prior degree is required.

Sources and how this was checked