Bachelor’s degree
Bachelor of Science in Veterinary Technology (on campus)
Purdue University · Purdue University College of Veterinary Medicine · West Lafayette, Indiana, United States
- Official award
- Bachelor of Science in Veterinary Technology (BSVT)BS
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for United States
- Format
- On campusFour-year curriculum (Year One general education; clinical portion from Year Two)
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Full-time on-campus science-based bachelor's in veterinary technology, recommended for students without a previous degree; students wanting only the associate degree can start in the clinical portion (Year Two).
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- Purdue University College of Veterinary Medicine
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Bachelor’s degreeA first degree. A bachelor’s title does not by itself show whether a program leads to veterinarian, nurse or technician roles: the study pathway is shown separately.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The program page describes graduates as practice-ready veterinary technicians/technologists.“providing practice ready veterinary technician/technologist graduates of the highest caliber and ability”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Purdue University On-Campus Program (Associate of Applied Science and Bachelor of Science, listed by AVMA as Bachelor of Science in Veterinary Nursing, which the school now calls Veterinary Technology); initial accreditation November 1976; next evaluation 2030 (as printed)
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Four-year curriculum (Year One general education; clinical portion from Year Two)
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Purdue University College of Veterinary Medicine (West Lafayette)625 Harrison Street, West Lafayette, IN 47907
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Competitive admission to Purdue University
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement, clinical placement details, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)