Professional doctorate
Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM) Program
Purdue University · Purdue University College of Veterinary Medicine · West Lafayette, Indiana, United States
- Official award
- Doctor of Veterinary MedicineDVM
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicineStated for United States
- Format
- On campusFour years
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Four-year DVM program with a problem-based foundation, a track chosen in year three (seven options) and a fourth year made up entirely of clinical rotations plus a required six-week externship.
- Subject
- Veterinary medicine
- Department
- Purdue University College of Veterinary Medicine
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Professional doctorateA professional doctorate that is itself the entry qualification (for example the DVM or VMD). It is listed separately from research PhDs and is not equivalent to them.
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicinePrograms the source describes as the academic and clinical qualification toward becoming a veterinarian in the stated jurisdiction. Registration or licensing normally requires further steps, and a qualification from one country does not guarantee registration in another.
- Why we classify it this way
- The accreditation page says the college grants the DVM and reports NAVLE pass rates, so the program prepares graduates to sit the veterinary licensing exam.“The Purdue University College of Veterinary Medicine grants the Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM) degree and is accredited by the Council on Education (COE)”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
- Further professional requirements
- The accreditation page publishes NAVLE pass rates (for example 95% for the class of 2026, class size 80).Source
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| After pre-veterinary coursework | four years | – | Required undergraduate coursework completed by the end of the spring before the DVM begins, each with C- or better; cumulative GPA of at least 3.10; bachelor's degree or at least 72 college credits for federal aid eligibilitySource |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Council on Education (COE)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Purdue University DVM program as listed by the AVMA COE as Accredited with minor deficiencies in Standard 3 (Physical Facilities & Equipment) and Standard 9 (Curriculum); last evaluation 2025, next evaluation 2032 (as printed)
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Four years
- Clinical components
- Fourth year consists entirely of clinical rotations; seven tracks chosen in year three
- Clinical placement
- Required six-week externship at an off-campus location supervised by a veterinarian; may be domestic or internationalSix weeks
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Purdue University College of Veterinary Medicine (West Lafayette)625 Harrison Street, West Lafayette, IN 47907
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- No experience requirement publishedThere are no minimum requirements for particular experiences; animal, research and veterinary experience are considered.
- Interview
- Interview possible
- Previous qualification
- Cumulative GPA of at least 3.10; at least a C- in every prerequisite course; bachelor's degree or at least 72 college credits to qualify for federal financial aid
- Science prerequisites
- Required undergraduate courses completed by the end of spring semester before the DVM begins
- Documents
- VMCAS application; at least three electronic letters of recommendation (one from a veterinarian requested); transcripts sent to VMCAS
- Deadlines
- Transcripts and electronic letters of recommendation due to VMCAS by September 15, 2026 at 11:59 p.m. Eastern · this date has passed; check the current cycle
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Scholarships and funding
Funding is shown with its basis and who it is for. Competitive funding is not a guarantee.
College of Veterinary Medicine and Division of Financial Aid scholarships (no application; all veterinary students considered) Scholarship
Competitive
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, intakes, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)