Veterinary Schools

Bachelor’s degree

獣医学群 獣医学類

School of Veterinary Medicine, Veterinary Medicine Course

Rakuno Gakuen University · School of Veterinary Medicine (獣医学群) · Ebetsu, Hokkaido, Japan

Official award
獣医学類 (six-year veterinary course; degree title not printed on fetched pages)
Pathway
Veterinary medicineStated for Japan
Format
On campus6 years
Tuition
Not published

About this program

Six-year veterinary course aimed at practical veterinarians for production animals, companion animals and public health, with clinical rotations at the university animal medical centre. A new curriculum based on Day One Competences started in 2021.

Role the program prepares for: Practical veterinarian in production-animal, companion-animal or public-health work.

Subject
Veterinary medicine
Department
School of Veterinary Medicine (獣医学群)
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.

Degree level
Bachelor’s degreeA first degree. A bachelor’s title does not by itself show whether a program leads to veterinarian, nurse or technician roles: the study pathway is shown separately.
Pathway
Veterinary medicinePrograms the source describes as the academic and clinical qualification toward becoming a veterinarian in the stated jurisdiction. Registration or licensing normally requires further steps, and a qualification from one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Why we classify it this way
The faculty page says the course trains veterinarians, and the qualifications page lists the National Veterinary Examination as available to Veterinary Medicine course students who take the designated subjects.“獣医師国家試験 獣医学類 本学の指定する科目を履修すること”Source
Prior degree required
Not published
Further professional requirements
A qualification table lists the National Veterinary Examination (獣医師国家試験) as obtainable by students of the Veterinary Medicine course who complete the designated subjects.Source
Entry routes and duration
RouteDurationCreditsRequirement
Entry from secondary school6年制 (six-year system since 1979)––Source

Accreditation, evaluation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.

  • Verified in official recordEuropean Association of Establishments for Veterinary Education (EAEVE) - ESEVTProgram evaluation statusFull statusEU

    Reference: ESEVT Status of EAEVE Establishments, updated after ECOVE meeting 27.05.2026, entry 101

    Scope: Ebetsu (Rakuno Gakuen University) veterinary education establishment, EAEVE Associate; ESEVT status Accreditation (SOP 2021B), ECOVE decision December 2024, granted October 2023 to October 2030.

  • Stated by the schoolEuropean Association of Establishments for Veterinary Education (EAEVE)Program evaluation statusFull statusEU

    Scope: University statement that the Veterinary Medicine course obtained EAEVE international accreditation in 2024.

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Full-time
Duration
6 years
Clinical components
Clinical rotation training in the upper years at the university-affiliated animal medical centre.
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Ebetsu campus

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Animal or veterinary experience
Not published
Interview
Not published
Official instructions
Application instructions

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement, clinical placement details, whether a prior degree is required.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction