Professional doctorate
Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM)
Rowan University · Shreiber School of Veterinary Medicine · Mullica Hill, New Jersey, United States
- Official award
- Doctor of Veterinary MedicineDVM
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicineStated for United States
- Format
- On campus
- Tuition
- $39,375per year, 2026-2027
About this program
New professional DVM program, provisionally accredited; a student who completes an accredited veterinary program may sit the NAVLE for US licensure.
- Subject
- Veterinary medicine
- Department
- Shreiber School of Veterinary Medicine
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Professional doctorateA professional doctorate that is itself the entry qualification (for example the DVM or VMD). It is listed separately from research PhDs and is not equivalent to them.
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicinePrograms the source describes as the academic and clinical qualification toward becoming a veterinarian in the stated jurisdiction. Registration or licensing normally requires further steps, and a qualification from one country does not guarantee registration in another.
- Why we classify it this way
- The page states that a student who satisfactorily completes an accredited veterinary program may sit the NAVLE needed for US licensure.“A student who satisfactorily completes an accredited veterinary program may sit for the NAVLE exam necessary to obtain US licensure.”Source
- Prior degree required
- No
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| After pre-veterinary coursework | Not published | 60 | Minimum of 60 college credit hours with overall GPA of at least 3.0; baccalaureate degree not requiredSource |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Council on Education (COE)Program accreditationConditional statusUS
Scope: DVM program, Rowan University (Mullica Hill, NJ); listed as Provisional Accreditation (not full accreditation); last evaluation 2024, next evaluation 2026
Further requirements: New schools are eligible for Provisional Accreditation when the first cohort of students begins; full accreditation is considered later.
Stated by the schoolAVMA Council on Education (COE)Program accreditationConditional statusUS
Scope: School statement: Letter of Reasonable Assurance October 2024; provisionally accredited as of September 2, 2025
Dates: 2 September 2025 to not stated
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Not published
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Shreiber School of Veterinary Medicine, Mullica Hill
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Animal or veterinary experience recommendedNo minimum hours, but varied animal and veterinary experiences are strongly recommended.
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Minimum of 60 college credits and an overall GPA of at least 3.0; most successful candidates hold a bachelor degree.
- Science prerequisites
- English/writing-intensive 6, math 3, general biology 6 (in-person lab), microbiology 3, upper-level biology 6, and further prerequisites; C- or better; maximum two in progress at application.
- Prior degree
- A baccalaureate degree is not required.
- Tests explicitly required
- GRE, MCAT and CASPer are not required and are not evaluated.
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition (New Jersey resident)Tuition · mandatory | $39,375per year, 2026-2027 | New Jersey Resident | 19 October 2026Source |
| Tuition (out-of-state resident)Tuition · mandatory | $61,425per year, 2026-2027 | Out-of-State Resident | 19 October 2026Source |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, mandatory travel, placement expenses and insurance are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; ask what is extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: duration, intakes, clinical placement details.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)