Veterinary Schools

Associate degree

Veterinary Technology Degree (Online), AAS

San Juan College · Veterinary Technology Program · No campus · institution based in United States

Official program pageOfficial admissionsRequest information
Official award
Associate of Applied Science (AAS) in Veterinary TechnologyAAS
Pathway
Veterinary technologyStated for United States
Format
OnlinePart-time program; one to four courses per semester.
Tuition
Not published

About this program

Part-time online AAS in veterinary technology with clinical instruction at a veterinary hospital near the student and a Fast Track Lab (or alternative large animal site) for large, lab and exotic species skills.

Subject
Veterinary technology
Department
Veterinary Technology Program
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.

Degree level
Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
Pathway
Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
Why we classify it this way
The page says an AVMA-accredited AAS in Veterinary Technology qualifies graduates to take the VTNE and then apply to be credentialed veterinary technicians.“To become a vet tech, you must earn an Associate of Applied Science (AAS) in Veterinary Technology from an AVMA (American Veterinary Medical Association) accredited program.”Source
Prior degree required
Not published
Further professional requirements
After graduating, students qualify to take the VTNE and can then apply to be credentialed in their state.Source

Accreditation, evaluation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.

  • Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationFull statusUS

    Scope: Veterinary Technology Distance Education Program, Associate of Applied Science (as listed by AVMA)

    Dates: 8 November 2006 to not stated

Study structure

Delivery
OnlineAcademic instruction is online. Check the details for campus visits, laboratory work, attendance-based exams and mandatory clinical or workplace placements, which can still apply.
Online instruction
Online classroom instruction
Mandatory campus attendance
Not published
Campus residencies or workshops
None described. A two-day Fast Track Lab in Waco, Texas, is offered to complete VETT 2233 and VETT 2235 (travel required); students who cannot attend must secure a food and farm animal (large animal) OCCI site instead.
In-person assessment
Not stated on the program page.
Laboratory work
Clinical skills courses for large, lab and exotic species are required; completed at the two-day Fast Track Lab in Waco, Texas, or at a large animal OCCI site.
Mandatory clinical or workplace placement
Mandatory: students complete Off-Campus Clinical Instruction (OCCI) at a veterinary hospital in their area, where a licensed veterinarian oversees clinical hours.
Placement arrangement
Student arranges the placement
Must already work in a veterinary setting
Not published
Placement site approval
Not published
Live attendance
Live attendance not published
International enrolment
Not published
Study mode
Part-time
Duration
Part-time program; one to four courses per semester.
Clinical placement
Off-Campus Clinical Instruction (OCCI) site at a veterinary hospital in the student's area; two-day Fast Track Lab in Waco, Texas, or a large animal OCCI site for VETT 2233 and VETT 2235.
Intakes
Start of any semester

Teaching language

Taught in
English
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Animal or veterinary experience
Not published
Interview
Not published
Official instructions
Application instructions

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, animal or veterinary experience requirement, whether a prior degree is required.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction