Veterinary Schools

Diploma

Veterinary Technology (in-person, Saskatoon)

Saskatchewan Polytechnic · Veterinary Technology · Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada

Official program pageOfficial admissionsRequest information
Official award
Veterinary Technology diploma
Pathway
Veterinary technologyStated for Canada
Format
On campusTwo years (Year 1 - 41 weeks; Year 2 - 38 weeks)
Tuition
Not published

About this program

Two-year diploma delivered in person at the Saskatoon campus with labs, clinical rotations at local veterinary facilities and two four-week off-site practicums in semester five.

Role the program prepares for: Prepares graduates to support veterinarians in the diagnosis, treatment and care of animals.

Subject
Veterinary technology
Department
Veterinary Technology
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.

Degree level
DiplomaA non-degree award, or a qualification at a level the national framework defines. It is not counted as an academic degree.
Pathway
Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
Why we classify it this way
The program page says completers are ready to write the VTNE toward registered veterinary technologist status.“you’ll be ready to write the North American Veterinary Technology Exam (VTNE)—your gateway to becoming a registered veterinary technologist (RVT) in Saskatchewan and many other provinces across Canada.”Source
Prior degree required
No
Further professional requirements
Completers are ready to write the VTNE to become registered veterinary technologists.Source
Entry routes and duration
RouteDurationCreditsRequirement
Entry from secondary schoolTwo-year diploma (Year 1 - 41 weeks; Year 2 - 38 weeks)–Grade 12 with Biology 30, Chemistry 30, Foundations of Math 30 or Pre-Calculus 30 and English at 70%Source

Accreditation, evaluation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.

  • Verified in official recordCanadian Veterinary Medical Association (CVMA) - Veterinary Technologist Program Accreditation CommitteeProgram accreditationFull statusCA

    Scope: Saskatchewan Polytechnic (formerly SIAST) veterinary technology, Saskatoon (CVMA VTPAC list; the list does not separately state the distance option)

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Full-time
Duration
Two years (Year 1 - 41 weeks; Year 2 - 38 weeks)
Clinical components
Clinical rotations at local veterinary facilities
Laboratory work
In-person labs in basic and clinical sciences with live animals
Clinical placement
Two off-site practicums in semester five, four weeks eachTwo four-week practicums
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Saskatoon CampusP.O. Box 1520, Saskatoon, SK S7K 3R5

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Animal or veterinary experience
Animal or veterinary experience requiredMinimum 40 hours of documented veterinarian-supervised volunteer or work experience, form due by August 1
Interview
Not published
Previous qualification
Grade 12 with minimum 70% in each required subject and a minimum 70% in 30-level English Language Arts
Science prerequisites
Biology 30, Chemistry 30 and Foundations of Math 30 or Pre-Calculus 30
Official instructions
Application instructions

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, intakes.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction