Diploma
Veterinary Technician (VTE)
Seneca Polytechnic · School of Health Sciences · King City, Ontario, Canada
- Official award
- Ontario College Diploma
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for Canada
- Format
- Hybrid4 Semesters (2 Years)
- Tuition
- Not published
Hybrid program
About this program
Two-year Ontario College Diploma offered in Seneca's hybrid delivery format, with in-person labs and Animal Health Centre shifts and an external field placement in the fourth semester.
Role the program prepares for: Prepares students to assist and support veterinary practitioners, public health officers and biomedical research scientists.
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- School of Health Sciences
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- DiplomaA non-degree award, or a qualification at a level the national framework defines. It is not counted as an academic degree.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The page places the program on the route to RVT status, which also requires the Veterinary Technician National Examination.“To practice in Ontario as a Registered Veterinary Technician (RVT), you must meet and maintain the qualifications set by the”Source
- Prior degree required
- No
- Further professional requirements
- RVT status in Ontario requires meeting OAVT qualifications and completing the Veterinary Technician National Examination.Source
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry from secondary school | Two years, four semesters | – | OSSD or equivalent with Grade 12 English, Mathematics, Grade 11 Biology and Grade 12/11 ChemistrySource |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordCanadian Veterinary Medical Association (CVMA) - Veterinary Technologist Program Accreditation CommitteeProgram accreditationFull statusCA
Scope: Seneca College veterinary technician program, King City (CVMA VTPAC list, bracketed year as printed)
Study structure
- Delivery
- HybridPart online and part in person (campus attendance, laboratory work, attendance-based exams or clinical placements). A hybrid program is never described as fully online.
- Online instruction
- Blended with required campus elements
- Mandatory campus attendance
- Yes
- Laboratory work
- Animal Health Centre clinical shifts are in-person in the first three semesters
- Mandatory clinical or workplace placement
- External field placement in fourth semester must be completed in person
- Placement arrangement
- Placement arrangement not published
- Must already work in a veterinary setting
- No
- Placement site approval
- Not published
- Live attendance
- Live attendance not published
- International enrolment
- Yes
- Enrollment restrictions
- Students in flexible-delivery courses must attend in person (IRCC policy noted by the college)
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- 4 Semesters (2 Years)
- Clinical components
- Internal clinical placement shifts in the Animal Health Centre in semesters 1-3
- Campus attendance
- Hybrid delivery; some courses must be completed in person
- Clinical placement
- External field placement in fourth semester, completed in person
- Intakes
- September
- Campus
- King Campus13990 Dufferin St N, King City, Ontario L7B 1B3
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Ontario Secondary School Diploma (OSSD) or equivalent
- Science prerequisites
- English Grade 12 C or U; Mathematics Grade 12 C or U or Grade 11 U or M; Biology Grade 11 C or U; Chemistry Grade 12 C or Grade 11 U
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, animal or veterinary experience requirement.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)