Associate degree
Veterinary Technician, AAS
Southeast Technical College · Veterinary Technician program (Agriculture) · Sioux Falls, South Dakota, United States
- Official award
- Associate of Applied ScienceAAS
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for United States
- Format
- On campusIn as little as two years
- Tuition
- $282per credit, current published rate (academic year not stated on page)
About this program
Associate degree preparing veterinary technicians, with training on large and small animals; admission uses academic criteria, the TEAS exam, job shadowing and an essay.
Role the program prepares for: Veterinary technician working under a licensed veterinarian.
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- Veterinary Technician program (Agriculture)
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The program page says it prepares students for a career as a veterinary technician and is AVMA CVTEA accredited as a program for educating veterinary technicians.“Southeast Technical College is accredited by the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA) Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA) as a program for educating veterinary technicians.”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
- Further professional requirements
- The program has state-specific criteria required for licensure.Source
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationOther statusUS
Scope: Veterinary Technology Program, Sioux Falls, SD; Associate of Applied Science; the AVMA list prints status INITIAL ACCREDITATION (initial accreditation January 27, 2022; next evaluation 2027)
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- In as little as two years
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Sioux Falls campus2320 N Career Ave, Sioux Falls, SD 57107
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Animal or veterinary experience requiredMinimum of 25 hours of job shadow experience.
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- At least two of: high school GPA 2.5; GED sub-scores 145 or higher; college GPA 2.25 (9+ credits); ACT 18; SAT 960. Otherwise ACCUPLACER scores.
- Tests explicitly required
- TEAS: Math 55, Reading 65 (waived with ACT sub-scores of at least 21 in Reading and Math).
- Documents
- 500-word essay; job shadow experience form
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Charge per credit hour, plus applicable feesTuition · mandatory | $282per credit, current published rate (academic year not stated on page) | All students | 19 October 2026Source |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, mandatory travel, placement expenses and insurance are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; ask what is extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: full-time or part-time options, intakes, clinical placement details, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)