Diploma
Veterinary Technician
St. Clair College · School of Health Sciences · Windsor, Ontario, Canada
- Official award
- Ontario College Diploma
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for Canada
- Format
- On campus
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Ontario College Diploma at the Main Windsor Campus with a teaching hospital and clinical placements in semesters two and four.
Role the program prepares for: Prepares students to assist veterinarians with radiography, nursing, dentistry, nutritional support, surgical nursing and laboratory procedures.
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- School of Health Sciences
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- DiplomaA non-degree award, or a qualification at a level the national framework defines. It is not counted as an academic degree.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The program overview describes the veterinary technician role the program trains for.“Veterinary Technicians assist the Veterinarian in the medical care of animals.”Source
- Prior degree required
- No
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry from secondary school | Not published | – | OSSD plus Grade 12 English, Grade 12 Math, senior Biology and ChemistrySource |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordCanadian Veterinary Medical Association (CVMA) - Veterinary Technologist Program Accreditation CommitteeProgram accreditationFull statusCA
Scope: St. Clair College veterinary technician program, Windsor (CVMA VTPAC list, bracketed year as printed)
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- Not published
- Clinical components
- Teaching hospital accredited by the College of Veterinarians of Ontario
- Clinical placement
- Work experience during semesters two and four; clinical placements may be anywhere in Ontario and students provide their own transportation
- Intakes
- September
- Campus
- Main Windsor Campus2000 Talbot Rd W., Windsor, Ontario N9A 6S4
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Animal or veterinary experience recommendedThe college recommends interviewing a Registered Veterinary Technician and gaining experience before applying.
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- OSSD with majority of C, U, M or O level courses
- Science prerequisites
- Grade 12 English, Grade 12 Math (C or U), senior level Biology and Chemistry (C or U)
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, duration, full-time or part-time options.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)