Diploma
Veterinary Technology
St. Lawrence College · Veterinary Technology (Kingston) · Kingston, Ontario, Canada
- Official award
- Ontario College Advanced Diploma
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for Canada
- Format
- On campusThree years
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Three-year Ontario College Advanced Diploma on the Kingston campus with training for veterinary clinic and biomedical research settings and a semester-six work experience placement.
Role the program prepares for: Prepares graduates for biomedical research settings or veterinary clinic settings.
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- Veterinary Technology (Kingston)
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- DiplomaA non-degree award, or a qualification at a level the national framework defines. It is not counted as an academic degree.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The page says graduates are eligible for OAVT registration and to write the VTNE.“Students are eligible to write the Veterinary Technician National Exam (VTNE)”Source
- Prior degree required
- No
- Further professional requirements
- Graduates are eligible for OAVT and CALAS registration and may write the VTNE in the graduating year.Source
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry from secondary school | Three years | – | OSSD with Grade 12 English, Math and Chemistry and Grade 11 or 12 BiologySource |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordCanadian Veterinary Medical Association (CVMA) - Veterinary Technologist Program Accreditation CommitteeProgram accreditationFull statusCA
Scope: St. Lawrence College veterinary technology program, Kingston (CVMA VTPAC list, bracketed year as printed)
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Three years
- Clinical placement
- Work experience in semester 6: experience in a veterinary practice and a research facilityTwo 5-week placements and one 4-week placement
- Intakes
- January 2027, September 2027
- Campus
- Kingston Campus100 Portsmouth Ave, Kingston, Ontario K7L 5A6
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Ontario Secondary School Diploma (OSSD)
- Science prerequisites
- Grade 12 English (C or U), Grade 12 Math (C or U), Grade 12 Chemistry (C or U), Grade 11 or 12 Biology (C or U)
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, animal or veterinary experience requirement.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)