Associate degree
Veterinary Technology A.S. Degree (online option)
St. Petersburg College · School of Veterinary Technology · No campus · institution based in United States
- Official award
- Associate in Science (A.S.) in Veterinary TechnologyAS
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyStated for United States
- Format
- OnlineStudents may elect, with permission of the program director, to take reduced credit hours each semester and extend the program over eight semesters.
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Associate degree that prepares students for the Veterinary Technician National Exam; the online option combines online coursework with clinical practicums completed at a veterinary facility where the student lives.
Role the program prepares for: Prepares students to pass the VTNE and work as veterinary technicians.
- Subject
- Veterinary technology
- Department
- School of Veterinary Technology
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
- Pathway
- Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
- Why we classify it this way
- The page says the A.S. program prepares students for the VTNE and is accredited by the AVMA CVTEA as a veterinary technology program.“Prepares you for the Veterinary Technician National Exam (VTNE)”Source
- Prior degree required
- No
- Further professional requirements
- Graduates are prepared for the VTNE; credentialing rules are set by each state.Source
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Associate in Science, Veterinary Nursing Distance Education Program (as listed by AVMA)
Dates: 1 November 1995 to not stated
Study structure
- Delivery
- OnlineAcademic instruction is online. Check the details for campus visits, laboratory work, attendance-based exams and mandatory clinical or workplace placements, which can still apply.
- Online instruction
- Online classroom instruction
- Mandatory campus attendance
- Not published
- In-person assessment
- Not stated on the program page.
- Laboratory work
- Online students have the benefit of working with program faculty hands on at our facility for large animal skills and lab animal skills (the page does not say whether this is mandatory).
- Mandatory clinical or workplace placement
- Mandatory: online students complete 280 hours of clinical experience in a veterinary facility during each semester enrolled in the program, under an agreement with a veterinary facility and a credentialed mentor.
- Placement arrangement
- Student arranges the placement
- Must already work in a veterinary setting
- Yes
- Placement site approval
- Yes
- Live attendance
- Live attendance not published
- International enrolment
- Not published
- Study mode
- Full-time, Part-time
- Duration
- Students may elect, with permission of the program director, to take reduced credit hours each semester and extend the program over eight semesters.
- Campus attendance
- Online students have the benefit of working with program faculty hands on at our facility for large animal skills and lab animal skills.
- Clinical placement
- Clinical practicums with a credentialed mentor at a veterinary facility; online students 280 hours of clinical experience each semester enrolled.Online students: average 20-25 hours per week, total 280 hours over 12 weeks of the semester.
- Intakes
- August, January, May
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Science prerequisites
- At least 15 of the 21 credits of required general education and support courses (composition, mathematics, natural science) before the first program term.
- Documents
- Accepted students must pass a background check and drug screening.
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, animal or veterinary experience requirement.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)