Professional doctorate
DVM Professional Program
Texas A&M University · College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences · College Station, Texas, United States
- Official award
- Doctor of Veterinary MedicineDVM
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicineStated for United States
- Format
- On campus
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Professional DVM program with a prerequisite-based, points-weighted selection process; applicants apply through TMDSAS and enrolment is limited to Texas residents and certain other US citizens.
- Subject
- Veterinary medicine
- Department
- College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Professional doctorateA professional doctorate that is itself the entry qualification (for example the DVM or VMD). It is listed separately from research PhDs and is not equivalent to them.
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicinePrograms the source describes as the academic and clinical qualification toward becoming a veterinarian in the stated jurisdiction. Registration or licensing normally requires further steps, and a qualification from one country does not guarantee registration in another.
- Why we classify it this way
- The program is the professional veterinary medical curriculum whose graduates sit the NAVLE and licensing boards.“Professional Veterinary Medical Curriculum”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
- International applicants and graduates
- International applicants are not considered; enrolment is limited to Texas residents, US citizens/nationals from other states, and certain permanent residents.Source
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| After pre-veterinary coursework | Not published | 46 | 46 hours of prerequisite coursework complete by the end of spring before admissionSource |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Council on Education (COE)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Doctor of Veterinary Medicine program, Texas A&M University (College Station, TX); Status Accredited, last evaluation 2022, next evaluation 2029
Stated by the schoolAVMA Council on Education (COE)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: School statement: Full accreditation; next site visit Fall 2029
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Not published
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- College Station campus (VMBS)
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Animal or veterinary experience requiredMore than 100 hours of veterinary experience under a veterinarian are required to qualify for an interview.
- Interview
- Interview required
- Previous qualification
- Minimum GPAs: 2.90 overall, 3.10 for the last 45 semester hours, and 2.9 science.
- Science prerequisites
- 46 hours: general biology with lab 4, microbiology with lab 4, genetics 3, animal nutrition 3, general chemistry with lab 8, organic chemistry with lab 8, biochemistry 3, statistics 3, physics with lab 4, English 3, public speaking 3; grades of C or better within 10 years.
- Tests explicitly required
- GRE not currently required; Casper assessment is part of the Entry Year 2027 cycle.
- Documents
- TMDSAS application and VMBS supplemental application ($75 non-refundable fee), three evaluations including one from a veterinarian.
- Deadlines
- Final application deadline: Monday, Aug. 31, 2026, 11:59 p.m. CDT (Entry Year 2027) · Entry Year 2027 · this date has passed; check the current cycle
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| VMBS supplemental application fee (non-refundable)Application fee · mandatory | $75one-time, Entry Year 2027 cycle | All applicants | 19 October 2026Source |
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, duration, intakes, clinical placement details, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)