Professional doctorate
DVM Program
Texas Tech University · School of Veterinary Medicine · Amarillo, Texas, United States
- Official award
- Doctor of Veterinary MedicineDVM
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicineStated for United States
- Format
- On campusThree years on campus plus a community-based clinical year
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Four-year outcomes- and competency-based DVM with three years on the Amarillo campus and a community-based fourth clinical year; applicants must be Texas or New Mexico residents.
- Subject
- Veterinary medicine
- Department
- School of Veterinary Medicine
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Professional doctorateA professional doctorate that is itself the entry qualification (for example the DVM or VMD). It is listed separately from research PhDs and is not equivalent to them.
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicinePrograms the source describes as the academic and clinical qualification toward becoming a veterinarian in the stated jurisdiction. Registration or licensing normally requires further steps, and a qualification from one country does not guarantee registration in another.
- Why we classify it this way
- The page describes the program as preparing students to practise veterinary medicine upon graduation.“to instill in them the necessary confidence and competency to practice veterinary medicine upon graduation”Source
- Prior degree required
- No
- International applicants and graduates
- All applicants must be Texas or New Mexico residents (up to 10% of the student body may be New Mexico residents).Source
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| After pre-veterinary coursework | First three years in Amarillo plus clinical year | 39 | At least 2 years post-secondary instruction and 48 semester credits; 39 semester credits of prerequisitesSource |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Council on Education (COE)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Doctor of Veterinary Medicine program, Texas Tech University School of Veterinary Medicine (Amarillo, TX); Status Accredited, last evaluation 2025, next evaluation 2032
Stated by the schoolAVMA Council on Education (COE)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: School statement: granted Accredited status by the AVMA COE in October 2025; next site visit anticipated 2032
Dates: 1 October 2025 to not stated
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Three years on campus plus a community-based clinical year
- Clinical components
- Fourth-year community-based Clinical Learning Network located primarily in Texas.
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Amarillo campus (School of Veterinary Medicine)
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Animal or veterinary experience recommendedApplicants must demonstrate agricultural, animal or veterinary experience in rural and regional communities; no minimum hours.
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- At least 2 years of post-secondary instruction and 48 semester credits; minimum 2.9 overall and 2.9 science GPA.
- Science prerequisites
- Animal nutrition 3, biochemistry 3, English 3, general biology 4, general microbiology 4, genetics 3, general chemistry I and II 8, introductory statistics 3, organic chemistry 4, physics 4 (total 39 semester credits); C or higher, within 10 years.
- Tests explicitly required
- GRE not required.
- Documents
- TMDSAS application, three applicant evaluation forms (one from a veterinarian), school secondary application.
- Deadlines
- TMDSAS application due August 31, 2026 (11:59pm CST) · 2027 · this date has passed; check the current cycle
- School of Veterinary Medicine secondary application due September 30, 2026 (5:00pm CST) · 2027 · this date has passed; check the current cycle
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| TMDSAS application feeApplication fee · mandatory | $235one-time, August 2026 deadline cycle | All applicants | 19 October 2026Source |
| School of Veterinary Medicine secondary application feeApplication fee · mandatory | $75one-time, August 2026 deadline cycle | Applicants invited to the secondary application | 19 October 2026Source |
| Tuition and fees, year 1 (in-state resident)Other compulsory charge · mandatory | $22,000per year, Year 1 estimate (academic year not printed) | In State Resident | 19 October 2026Source |
| Tuition and fees, year 1 (out of state)Other compulsory charge · mandatory | $32,800per year, Year 1 estimate (academic year not printed) | Out of State | 19 October 2026Source |
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, intakes, clinical placement details.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)