Veterinary Schools

Associate degree

Veterinary Technology, Associate of Applied Science

Tidewater Community College · Veterinary program (Natural Sciences) · Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
Associate of Applied Science - Veterinary TechnologyAAS
Pathway
Veterinary technologyStated for United States
Format
On campus6 semesters
Tuition
Not published

About this program

Six-semester, 63-credit associate degree designed for people already working in veterinary practices; classes meet twice weekly with all-day laboratories 3-4 times per semester. The page does not state how the twice-weekly classes are delivered.

Role the program prepares for: Licensed veterinary technician.

Subject
Veterinary technology
Department
Veterinary program (Natural Sciences)
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.

Degree level
Associate degreeA two-year-type degree, common in the United States for veterinary technology.
Pathway
Veterinary technologyPrograms preparing veterinary technicians or technologists, depending on the jurisdiction. This is a different role from veterinary nursing in some countries and the same role under another name in others.
Why we classify it this way
The page says the program prepares students to become licensed veterinary technicians.“Prepare to become a licensed veterinary technician, a career in which you'll perform laboratory diagnostics, advanced nursing care, client communication, radiography, anesthesiology, surgical nursing, and dentistry”Source
Prior degree required
Not published
Further professional requirements
Graduates are eligible to take the VTNE to become a Licensed Veterinary Technician.Source

Accreditation, evaluation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.

  • Verified in official recordAVMA Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA)Program accreditationFull statusUS

    Scope: Veterinary Technology Program, Virginia Beach, VA; Associate of Applied Science; initial accreditation February 7, 2020; next evaluation 2030

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
6 semesters
Credits
63 semester credit hoursCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
Laboratory work
All-day laboratories 3-4 times per semester, typically on Mondays or Fridays
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Virginia Beach Campus1700 College Crescent, Virginia Beach, VA 23453

Source could not be re-checked automatically.

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Animal or veterinary experience
Not published
Interview
Not published
Previous qualification
Selective; separate program application in addition to college admission.

Source could not be re-checked automatically.

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement, clinical placement details, whether a prior degree is required.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction