Professional doctorate
Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (D.V.M.)
Tufts University · Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine at Tufts University · North Grafton, Massachusetts, United States
- Official award
- Doctor of Veterinary MedicineDVM
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicineStated for United States
- Format
- On campusFour years
- Tuition
- $69,696per year, 2026-2027 academic year
About this program
Four-year DVM program; classes from the class of 2028 follow a new multispecies curriculum with foundations of health and disease courses in the first two years and no formal tracking.
- Subject
- Veterinary medicine
- Department
- Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine at Tufts University
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Professional doctorateA professional doctorate that is itself the entry qualification (for example the DVM or VMD). It is listed separately from research PhDs and is not equivalent to them.
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicinePrograms the source describes as the academic and clinical qualification toward becoming a veterinarian in the stated jurisdiction. Registration or licensing normally requires further steps, and a qualification from one country does not guarantee registration in another.
- Why we classify it this way
- The school says graduates of the DVM program are qualified to treat disease in animals of all species.“Graduates of this program are qualified to treat disease in animals of all species”Source
- Prior degree required
- No
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| After pre-veterinary coursework | four-year curriculum | 90 | At least three full undergraduate academic years (90 semester hours) completed before enrollment, plus listed prerequisite coursesSource |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Council on Education (COE)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: Tufts University (Cummings School, North Grafton) DVM program as listed by the AVMA COE; last evaluation 2025, next evaluation 2032 (as printed)
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Four years
- Clinical components
- Taught across the school's teaching hospitals and clinics (Foster Hospital for Small Animals, Hospital for Large Animals and others)
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine at Tufts University (North Grafton)200 Westboro Road, North Grafton, MA 01536
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
- Published language requirements
- TOEFL or IELTS if the native language is not English or the applicant has not graduated from an English-taught institution
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Science prerequisites
- General biology, general chemistry, organic chemistry and physics (two semesters each, with labs where listed), genetics, biochemistry and others completed before enrolling but not necessarily before applying
- Prior degree
- At least 90 semester hours (three academic years); degree not required
- International applicants
- First-year international students are not eligible for institutional financial aid.
- Documents
- VMCAS application with Tufts-specific questions; official transcripts to VMCAS; three letters of evaluation (faculty, pre-health committee or advisor, veterinarian or research scientist)
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| DVM tuition, Massachusetts residents (estimated 2026-2027; subject to Trustee approval)Tuition · mandatory | $69,696per year, 2026-2027 academic year | MA residents (subsidy contingent on state appropriation) | 19 October 2026Source |
| DVM tuition, out-of-state residents (estimated 2026-2027; subject to Trustee approval)Tuition · mandatory | $75,696per year, 2026-2027 academic year | Out-of-State resident | 19 October 2026Source |
| Nonrefundable tuition payment due upon acceptanceDeposit · mandatory | $500one-time, upon acceptance | All accepted students | 19 October 2026Source |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement, clinical placement details.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)