Research doctorate (PhD)
Ph.D. in Comparative Biomedical Sciences
Tufts University · Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine at Tufts University · North Grafton, Massachusetts, United States
- Official award
- Doctor of Philosophy in Comparative Biomedical SciencesPhD
- Pathway
- Science and researchStated for United States
- Format
- On campus
- Tuition
- $15,000per year, 2026-2027 academic year, pre-qualifying exam
About this program
Research doctorate covering infectious diseases, neuroscience and reproductive biology, pathology, clinical science and human-animal interactions, with access to a teaching and research veterinary hospital and high-containment laboratories.
- Subject
- Veterinary biomedical sciences
- Department
- Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine at Tufts University
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Research doctorate (PhD)A research doctorate with a veterinary focus. It does not qualify anyone to practise as a veterinarian.
- Pathway
- Veterinary science and researchAcademic and research programs (veterinary science, biomedical sciences, public health, epidemiology, pathology and similar). They do not by themselves qualify graduates to practise as veterinarians.
- Why we classify it this way
- Research doctorate in biomedical sciences at a veterinary school; training is in research skills and not entry-to-practice veterinary medicine.“acquire scientific knowledge, technical and communication skills in research areas such as infectious diseases, neuroscience and reproductive biology, pathology, clinical science”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
No accreditation, recognition or registration-pathway record for this program has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- Not published
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine at Tufts University (North Grafton)200 Westboro Road, North Grafton, MA 01536
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
Research degree details
- Department
- Graduate Department of Comparative Health Sciences
- Research themes
- infectious diseases
- neuroscience and reproductive biology
- pathology
- clinical science
- human-animal interactions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ph.D. in Biomedical Sciences tuition, pre-exam (estimated 2026-2027)Tuition · mandatory | $15,000per year, 2026-2027 academic year, pre-qualifying exam | Ph.D. in Biomedical Sciences (pre-exam) | 19 October 2026Source |
| Ph.D. in Biomedical Sciences tuition, post-qualifying exam (estimated 2026-2027)Tuition · mandatory | $2,500per year, 2026-2027 academic year, post-qualifying exam | Ph.D. in Biomedical Sciences (post-qualifying exam) | 19 October 2026Source |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, mandatory travel, placement expenses and insurance are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; ask what is extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement, clinical placement details, whether a prior degree is required, accreditation or recognition record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)