Professional doctorate
Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM) Professional Program
Tuskegee University · Tuskegee University College of Veterinary Medicine · Tuskegee, Alabama, United States
- Official award
- Doctor of Veterinary MedicineDVM
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicineStated for United States
- Format
- On campusVeterinary curriculum Years 1-4
- Tuition
- $44,400per year, 2026-2027
About this program
Four-year professional program whose clinical phase begins in April after the third year; admission is through VMCAS plus a college supplemental application.
- Subject
- Veterinary medicine
- Department
- Tuskegee University College of Veterinary Medicine
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Professional doctorateA professional doctorate that is itself the entry qualification (for example the DVM or VMD). It is listed separately from research PhDs and is not equivalent to them.
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicinePrograms the source describes as the academic and clinical qualification toward becoming a veterinarian in the stated jurisdiction. Registration or licensing normally requires further steps, and a qualification from one country does not guarantee registration in another.
- Why we classify it this way
- The admissions office describes the college's goal as enrolling and graduating entry-level veterinary medical graduates.“maintain our rich legacy of enrolling and graduating the most diverse entry-level veterinary medical graduates in the nation”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| After pre-veterinary coursework | Not published | – | Minimum cumulative GPA 3.0 and science GPA 2.8; 1 hour of medical terminology; minimum 200 clinical contact hours with a licensed veterinarianSource |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Council on Education (COE)Program accreditationProvisional or probationary statusUS
Scope: Tuskegee University DVM program; Probationary Accreditation with major deficiencies in Standard 4 (Clinical Resources) and Standard 11 (Outcomes Assessment); last evaluation 2021, next evaluation 2028 (as printed)
Further requirements: Under AVMA COE policy, probationary status means major deficiencies must be corrected within two years.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Veterinary curriculum Years 1-4
- Clinical components
- Clinical phase (core clerkships and externships) begins in April after Year 3; all core clerkships are required to graduate
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Tuskegee University College of Veterinary Medicine
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Animal or veterinary experience requiredMinimum 200 clinical contact hours with a licensed veterinarian.
- Interview
- Interview required
- Previous qualification
- Minimum cumulative GPA 3.0 and science GPA 2.8 on a 4.0 scale
- Science prerequisites
- Early assurance course list includes animal science, general biology, general chemistry, organic chemistry, math/statistics and English; grades below C not acceptable (stated for the early assurance route); 1 hour of medical terminology required
- Tests explicitly required
- The GRE is no longer required to apply.
- Documents
- VMCAS application with at least three electronic letters of recommendation; college supplemental application (US$100 fee); veterinarian evaluation form; transcripts through VMCAS
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Veterinary Medicine full-time tuition (12+ hours), Fall 2026 and Spring 2027 totalTuition · mandatory | $44,400per year, 2026-2027 | Veterinary Medicine full-time (12+ hours) | 19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
| Veterinary Medicine total with mandatory fees (technology, activity, ID, health insurance, e-books)Other compulsory charge · mandatory | $49,180per year, 2026-2027 | Veterinary Medicine total | 19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Scholarships and funding
Funding is shown with its basis and who it is for. Competitive funding is not a guarantee.
SREB Regional Service Institution tuition supplements for certified residents of contracting states Tuition waiver
Only for certain applicants
Eligibility: A select number of qualified applicants from states with contractual agreements, with state certification
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: intakes, clinical placement details, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)