Bachelor’s degree
Veterinary Nursing BSc (Hons)
Ulster University · Veterinary Nursing, Ulster University · Coleraine, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
- Official award
- Bachelor of Science with Honours in Veterinary NursingBSc
- Pathway
- Veterinary nursingStated for United Kingdom
- Format
- On campusThis is a 4 year course and attendance is full time
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Four-year full-time honours degree in Coleraine with a third-year practice placement (minimum 1680 hours) and an associate Diploma in Professional Practice; graduates can apply to join the RCVS register of veterinary nurses. RCVS accreditation is provisional.
- Subject
- Veterinary nursing
- Department
- Veterinary Nursing, Ulster University
- Awarding body
- Ulster University
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Bachelor’s degreeA first degree. A bachelor’s title does not by itself show whether a program leads to veterinarian, nurse or technician roles: the study pathway is shown separately.
- Pathway
- Veterinary nursingPrograms preparing veterinary nurses. The role, title and regulation differ by country and are not interchangeable with veterinarians or technicians.
- Why we classify it this way
- The page states that graduates can apply to become an RCVS registered veterinary nurse.“Upon successful completion of the programme students can apply to become a Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons registered veterinary nurse.”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
- Further professional requirements
- Students on provisionally accredited qualifications may be required to pass the RCVS pre-registration examinations.Source
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry from secondary school | This is a 4 year course and attendance is full time | – | A Level BCC including BiologySource |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordRoyal College of Veterinary Surgeons (RCVS)Professional-body recognitionProvisional or probationary statusUK
Scope: RCVS register lists Ulster University as an accredited institution (2024) with provisional accreditation; the university states the Veterinary Nursing degree has provisional accreditation
Dates: 1 January 2024 to not stated
Further requirements: Once the first cohort completes, the Veterinary Nurse Education Committee will consider the AEI for full accreditation; students may be required to pass RCVS pre-registration examinations (school page).
Stated by the schoolRoyal College of Veterinary Surgeons (RCVS)Eligibility toward registrationProvisional or probationary statusUK
Scope: School states the course is accredited by the RCVS for the purpose of eligibility for registration as a veterinary nurse; provisional accreditation
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- This is a 4 year course and attendance is full time
- Clinical placement
- To fulfil this module, students must dedicate a minimum of 1680 hours in the third year of the programme to a training practice registered with the Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons (RCVS).minimum of 1680 hours in year three
- Thesis or dissertation
- Research Project module in year four
- Intakes
- September 2026, September 2027
- Campus
- Coleraine campus
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
- Published language requirements
- Academic IELTS 6.0 with no band score less than 5.5 or an accepted alternative test
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Animal or veterinary experience required37 hours relevant work experience with small animals in a veterinary practice or other relevant facility; interview; Occupational Health assessment before enrolment
- Interview
- Interview required
- Previous qualification
- A Level grades BCC with Biology or Double Award Life and Health Sciences; GCSE C/4 or above in English Language and Mathematics
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Registration with the RCVS as a student nurse (approximate)Other compulsory charge · mandatory | £230one-time, year of entry | approximately £230-250 for year of entry (lower bound recorded) | 19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, whether a prior degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)