Veterinary Schools

Professional doctorate

Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (three-year program)

University of Arizona · University of Arizona College of Veterinary Medicine · Oro Valley, Arizona, United States

Official program pageOfficial admissionsRequest information
Official award
Doctor of Veterinary MedicineDVM
Pathway
Veterinary medicineStated for United States
Format
On campusThree years (nine semesters)
Tuition
$50,643per year, annual total in the cost-of-attendance table (academic year not printed)

About this program

Three-year, nine-semester continuous program with preclinical years at the Oro Valley campus and a 12-month clinical year of rotations across Arizona practices.

Subject
Veterinary medicine
Department
University of Arizona College of Veterinary Medicine
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Qualification and professional pathway

Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.

Degree level
Professional doctorateA professional doctorate that is itself the entry qualification (for example the DVM or VMD). It is listed separately from research PhDs and is not equivalent to them.
Pathway
Veterinary medicinePrograms the source describes as the academic and clinical qualification toward becoming a veterinarian in the stated jurisdiction. Registration or licensing normally requires further steps, and a qualification from one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Why we classify it this way
The college's essential-qualifications policy states that the DVM degree signifies readiness to enter the veterinary profession.“The DVM degree signifies readiness to enter the veterinary profession.”Source
Prior degree required
No
Entry routes and duration
RouteDurationCreditsRequirement
After pre-veterinary courseworkthree-year, nine-semester curriculum–90 college units completed by enrollment; a bachelor's degree is strongly preferred but not required; 3.0 minimum GPA for cumulative, prerequisite and science coursesSource

Accreditation, evaluation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.

  • Verified in official recordAVMA Council on Education (COE)Program accreditationFull statusUS

    Scope: University of Arizona College of Veterinary Medicine DVM program (Tucson area) as listed by the AVMA COE; last evaluation 2024, next evaluation 2030 (as printed)

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Full-time
Duration
Three years (nine semesters)
Clinical components
Clinical year of eleven four-week rotations (general practice, specialty/referral practice, necropsy, large animal practice, shelter medicine and six electives)
Campus attendance
Preclinical years at the Oro Valley campus; clinical year in practices across Arizona
Clinical placement
Rotations across Arizona with mentorship from practicing veterinarians
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Oro Valley Campus (Hanley Building)1580 E Hanley Blvd, Oro Valley, AZ 85737

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Animal or veterinary experience
Not publishedVMCAS deadline is September 15 (11:59 p.m. Eastern); the page does not print the application year.
Interview
Interview possible
Previous qualification
90 college units completed by matriculation; offer rescinded if proof is not provided
Science prerequisites
Biological and physical sciences, math, humanities and social sciences; no more than two prerequisites in progress at application; online and community college courses acceptable
Prior degree
Bachelor's degree not required but strongly preferred
Tests explicitly required
The GRE is not required and scores are not considered.
Documents
VMCAS application with letters of recommendation; supplemental assessment (virtual recorded interviews) for candidates meeting GPA and prerequisite minimums; essential qualifications acknowledgement
Official instructions
Application instructions

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
Resident tuition, annual total (three equal semesters: fall, spring, summer)Tuition · mandatory$50,643per year, annual total in the cost-of-attendance table (academic year not printed)Resident19 October 2026Source
Non-resident tuition, annual total (three equal semesters: fall, spring, summer)Tuition · mandatory$78,780per year, annual total in the cost-of-attendance table (academic year not printed)Non-Resident19 October 2026Source
Mandatory fees, annual totalOther compulsory charge · mandatory$183per year, annual total in the cost-of-attendance table (academic year not printed)Resident and non-resident19 October 2026Source

No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.

Scholarships and funding

Funding is shown with its basis and who it is for. Competitive funding is not a guarantee.

  • College of Veterinary Medicine merit and need-based scholarships; federal loans Scholarship

    Competitive

    Source

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement.

Sources and how this was checked