Professional doctorate
Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM)
University of Calgary - Faculty of Veterinary Medicine · Faculty of Veterinary Medicine (UCVM) · Calgary, Alberta, Canada
- Official award
- Doctor of Veterinary MedicineDVM
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicineStated for Canada
- Format
- On campusFour years (curriculum integrated across all four years of study)
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Four-year DVM at the University of Calgary Faculty of Veterinary Medicine with a distributed, community-based clinical education model. Only Alberta residents (and Indigenous applicants from across Canada) are eligible.
Role the program prepares for: Prepares graduates as entry-level veterinary practitioners.
- Subject
- Veterinary medicine
- Department
- Faculty of Veterinary Medicine (UCVM)
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Professional doctorateA professional doctorate that is itself the entry qualification (for example the DVM or VMD). It is listed separately from research PhDs and is not equivalent to them.
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicinePrograms the source describes as the academic and clinical qualification toward becoming a veterinarian in the stated jurisdiction. Registration or licensing normally requires further steps, and a qualification from one country does not guarantee registration in another.
- Why we classify it this way
- The FAQ states DVM graduates are entry-level practitioners in all areas of veterinary practice.“You will graduate from UCVM with competence as an entry-level practitioner in all areas of veterinary practice.”Source
- Prior degree required
- No
- International applicants and graduates
- Only Alberta residents are accepted (Indigenous applicants from across Canada are also considered); international students are not accepted.Source
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| After pre-veterinary coursework | Four-year DVM after at least four terms of undergraduate study and ten required courses | – | Ten required courses and four full-time undergraduate semesters with combined GPA of at least 3.0Source |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Stated by the schoolCVMA/AVMA Council on EducationProgram accreditationFull statusCA
Scope: UCVM DVM program, as stated by the faculty (full accreditation for 7 years from December 2019)
Dates: 1 December 2019 to not stated
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- Four years (curriculum integrated across all four years of study)
- Intakes
- Fall 2027 (Class of 2031)
- Campus
- University of Calgary (UCVM)2500 University Drive NW, Calgary, Alberta T2N 1N4
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
- Published language requirements
- TOEFL iBT 100 with minimum 27 in each sub-score, or IELTS Academic 8.0 with no band below 7.0, where English is not the first language
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Interview required
- Previous qualification
- Four most recent full-time semesters with combined GPA of at least 3.0; ten required courses passed
- Science prerequisites
- Introductory biology (2), introductory chemistry (2), English, organic chemistry, statistics, biochemistry, genetics, ecology
- International applicants
- Must be an Alberta resident (Canadian citizen, permanent resident or protected person); Indigenous applicants from across Canada are considered.
- Tests explicitly required
- MCAT (minimum 495) and CASPer; essay and online Multiple Mini-Interview
- Deadlines
- Application deadline; MCAT scores released to UCalgary by this date · Fall 2027 (Class of 2031) (2026)
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, animal or veterinary experience requirement, clinical placement details.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)