Research doctorate (PhD)
Veterinary Scientist Training Program (dual DVM-PhD)
University of California, Davis · Weill School of Veterinary Medicine (UC Davis School of Veterinary Medicine) · Davis, California, United States
- Official award
- Dual DVM-PhD degrees (Veterinary Scientist Training Program)
- Pathway
- Science and researchStated for United States
- Format
- On campus
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Training program for students pursuing dual DVM and PhD degrees to become veterinarian-scientists in basic and translational research.
- Subject
- Veterinary science
- Department
- Weill School of Veterinary Medicine (UC Davis School of Veterinary Medicine)
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Research doctorate (PhD)A research doctorate with a veterinary focus. It does not qualify anyone to practise as a veterinarian.
- Pathway
- Veterinary science and researchAcademic and research programs (veterinary science, biomedical sciences, public health, epidemiology, pathology and similar). They do not by themselves qualify graduates to practise as veterinarians.
- Why we classify it this way
- Dual-degree research training program for veterinarian-scientists; the PhD component is a research degree, the DVM is the separate professional program.“prepare students with dual DVM-PhD degrees to become compassionate and exceptional veterinarian-scientists engaged in basic and translational research”Source
- Prior degree required
- Not published
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
No accreditation, recognition or registration-pathway record for this program has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- Not published
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Davis campus - Weill School of Veterinary MedicineOne Shields Avenue, Davis, CA 95616
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
Research degree details
- Department
- Veterinary Scientist Training Program, School of Veterinary Medicine
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, travel, placement expenses and insurance are extra.
Scholarships and funding
Funding is shown with its basis and who it is for. Competitive funding is not a guarantee.
VSTP fellowship support from the school Fellowship
Basis not stated
Eligibility: VSTP students in good standing
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement, clinical placement details, whether a prior degree is required, accreditation or recognition record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)