Professional doctorate
Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM)
University of California, Davis · Weill School of Veterinary Medicine (UC Davis School of Veterinary Medicine) · Davis, California, United States
- Official award
- Doctor of Veterinary MedicineDVM
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicineStated for United States
- Format
- On campusFour-year program
- Tuition
- $38,061per year, 2026-27
About this program
Four-year professional program with a broad comparative foundation followed by small animal or large animal species streams and clinical training.
- Subject
- Veterinary medicine
- Department
- Weill School of Veterinary Medicine (UC Davis School of Veterinary Medicine)
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Professional doctorateA professional doctorate that is itself the entry qualification (for example the DVM or VMD). It is listed separately from research PhDs and is not equivalent to them.
- Pathway
- Veterinary medicinePrograms the source describes as the academic and clinical qualification toward becoming a veterinarian in the stated jurisdiction. Registration or licensing normally requires further steps, and a qualification from one country does not guarantee registration in another.
- Why we classify it this way
- The program page states its mission is preparing competent graduates to begin careers as veterinarians across small animal, large animal, equine and other practice areas.“preparing competent, confident graduates to begin careers advancing the health of animals, people, and the environment”Source
- Prior degree required
- Yes
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| After a bachelor’s degree | four-year program | – | Bachelor's degree from an institutionally accredited university plus required prerequisite coursesSource |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
Verified in official recordAVMA Council on Education (COE)Program accreditationFull statusUS
Scope: UC Davis (University of California, Davis) DVM program as listed by the AVMA COE; last evaluation 2025, next evaluation 2032 (as printed)
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Four-year program
- Clinical components
- Students choose a species-specific stream in small or large animal after a comparative foundation
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Davis campus - Weill School of Veterinary MedicineOne Shields Avenue, Davis, CA 95616
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Animal or veterinary experience requiredMinimum 180 hours of veterinary experience by the application deadline; online experience does not count.
- Interview
- Interview required
- Previous qualification
- 2.5 GPA or higher (science and overall); grades of C or higher in prerequisites (C- not accepted)
- Science prerequisites
- Required prerequisite courses; students may apply once 75% are complete and all must be done in the spring before matriculation
- Prior degree
- A bachelor's degree from an institutionally accredited university
- International applicants
- International applicants have additional requirements; there is no specific funding for international students.
- Tests explicitly required
- The GRE is no longer a requirement as of November 2022.
- Documents
- VMCAS application; at least three eLORs, one from a veterinarian; UC Davis supplemental application; Multiple Mini Interview
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition and fees, Years 1-3 (California residents; cost-of-attendance table)Tuition · mandatory | $38,061per year, 2026-27 | California residents | 19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
| Tuition and fees, Year 4 (California residents; includes summer clinical start)Tuition · mandatory | $42,911per year, 2026-27 | California residents | 19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
| Nonresident supplemental tuition (California nonresidents)Tuition · mandatory | $12,245per year, 2026-27 | Nonresident | 19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
| Health insurance (cost-of-attendance direct cost)Insurance or other compulsory charge | $8,820per year, 2026-27 | All students | 19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Scholarships and funding
Funding is shown with its basis and who it is for. Competitive funding is not a guarantee.
School scholarship and grant program Scholarship
Competitive
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: intakes, clinical placement details.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)