Master’s degree
Master of Preventive Veterinary Medicine (MPVM)
University of California, Davis · Weill School of Veterinary Medicine (UC Davis School of Veterinary Medicine) · Davis, California, United States
- Official award
- Master of Preventive Veterinary MedicineMPVM
- Pathway
- Not classified
- Format
- On campus
- Tuition
- $22,690per year, 2026-27
About this program
Professional master's for veterinarians and physicians focused on animal, human and ecological health problems and the design and evaluation of disease control programs; also offered as a dual degree with the DVM.
- Subject
- Veterinary preventive medicine
- Department
- Weill School of Veterinary Medicine (UC Davis School of Veterinary Medicine)
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Qualification and professional pathway
Pathway is classified only from a statement on an official page. An award title such as DVM, BVSc, BSc or MSc does not decide it, and no degree, accreditation or listing by itself grants permission to practise anywhere.
- Degree level
- Master’s degreeA postgraduate degree. Many are academic or research degrees that do not qualify graduates to practise as veterinarians.
- Pathway
- Pathway not classifiedNo source we could read states the professional purpose of this program. It is left unclassified rather than guessed from the award name.
- Prior degree required
- Not published
| Route | Duration | Credits | Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Existing professional qualification required | Not published | – | DVM or equivalent, MD or equivalent, or considerable professional experience in an allied field with at least a bachelor's degree; minimum GPA 3.0Source |
Accreditation, evaluation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Program accreditation, evaluation status, professional-body recognition, eligibility toward registration, institutional recognition, directory listings and memberships are different things; none of them is automatic permission to practise, and recognition in one country does not guarantee registration in another.
No accreditation, recognition or registration-pathway record for this program has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- Not published
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Davis campus - Weill School of Veterinary MedicineOne Shields Avenue, Davis, CA 95616
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Animal or veterinary experience
- Not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- DVM or equivalent, MD or equivalent, or at least a bachelor's degree with considerable professional experience in an allied field
- Documents
- Online application through the UC Davis Office of Graduate Studies; three academic or professional recommendations in English; transcripts
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| MPVM tuition and fees (cost-of-attendance table, resident)Tuition · mandatory | $22,690per year, 2026-27 | Resident | 19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
| MPVM tuition and fees (cost-of-attendance table, nonresident column)Tuition · mandatory | $23,203per year, 2026-27 | Nonresident | 19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
| Nonresident supplemental tuitionTuition · mandatory | $12,245per year, 2026-27 | Nonresident | 19 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Clinical or laboratory charges, equipment and protective clothing, mandatory travel, placement expenses and insurance are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; ask what is extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes, animal or veterinary experience requirement, clinical placement details, whether a prior degree is required, accreditation or recognition record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 19 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 19 October 2026)